Real Homemade Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gloria
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
this is my first try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these plain because my intentions were to make bagel sandwiches out of them with egg sausage and cheese. While I was making them I thought they were going to be pretty ugly but, they turned out looking like a professional had done them. The recipe was easy to follow. The only thing I did differently was added a tablespoon of lemon juice to the mixture to act as a preservative. I have found that it makes the bread stay fresher longer without molding. I made 8 out of the recipe instead of 6 and they were still huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
As stated above the bagels themselves are a bit bland, but they are perfect for sandwiches, cream cheese, butter etc... my kids love them, they are easy to make and don't last long in my house. I don't bake them for any amount of time, I bake them to color. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Maley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I liked it, I used less flour also, just 4 cups. My yeast musta been bad because they were very dense. But I figured why waste so I cooked the anyway. Dough was tough after 15 min of kneading. They didn't float either. I will try again. I have some dried cherries I want to put in. Wanna find some cherry flavoring to add more cherry flavor. Very easy and taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious and particularly easy to make. However- I used parchment paper as the recipe said and it's stuck to the bottom of my bagels now! Next time I will just use tin foil or no paper at all. Otherwise this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Really good! I made mine the night before and then took it out of the fridge a couple hours before making them. Kids love them, one daughter rolled chocolate chips in, very popular! I will say that the dough seemed very tight, I added a tbsp of water and split the dough in half so that the dough hook could do it's work. Each half portion was kneaded for at least 14 minutes. I read some reviews where people decided to hand knead.... no thank you! I used the honey in the boiling water, it certainly adds a yummy fragrance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Today I made this recipe at the very first time. It was really easy and turned out really tasty!! I did take other reviewers' suggestion resolve the yeast and sugar in warm water then add other remaining ingredients, and I also only use 4 cups of flours. I have a really small oven so I can only place 4 bagels at once ( I decided in 8 portion at the first ). The first batch came out way too big, so I divided the rest 4 into 8 pieces, but it was a bit small. So I think next time I will divide the dough to 12 portions. And I will definitely make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEE4242
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe and technique. Made bread yesterday with similar ingrediants so I had dough in fridge. Let it come to room temp and rise in glass bowl, greased and coverd. Followed instructions on how to shape, boil and rest. I used an egg wash on top and sessame seeds. Baked on a cookie sheet with corn meal at 450 for about 20 minutes. Awesome goodness. No sticking to the pan. Will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE4242

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tony
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've made these a few times. They came out excellent each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States