Real French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was great. I used it as a template. To make it healthier, I upped the amount of onions, added dry red wine and served without cheese and bread. A few days later I wanted to make the leftovers more of "meal", so I added some French lentils that I cooked in beef broth, red wine and thyme. Awesome, awesome, awesome stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was my first time making this soup and it turned out great! I didn't put enough beef broth in it and I had 2 onions left over. I used Baby Swiss to top it off. Great reviews from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Amazing! my brother and i actually hate onion soups but we absolutely devoured this one! i excluded the sherry and used parmesan cheese and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nirmeenadel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I didn't measure anything, and I used white and yellow onions and butter instead of red onions and olive oil. This recipe is great because it explains how you get the rich onion flavor, and it's from the browning. My onions were really browned and tasty. I added a bunch of worcestershire. I didn't think the wine flavor was too strong but I didn't really measure it (I added a splash, maybe 1/2 cup and 1/4 Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
It is not worth the time and effort to make this soup. I could barely finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
The wine was way too overpowering. I couldn't even finish my bowl. It also didn't have the nice richness that makes a good French Onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
My husband and I did not like this recipe. Too sweet. Too much sherry. Not enough onions. I won't try this recipe again. There are many good French Onion recipes out here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Very good but I had a problem with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Soup was good, but I don't recommend using low sodium broth unless your diet calls for it. I made it again after using regular beef broth, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States