Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
If I could give this recipe NO stars, I will. I have been cooking recipes from Allrecipes for a good time and 99.9% of the times they are superb, but, honestly, I did not care for this recipe: in these crepes the edges dryed before the center was cooked (and it remains undercooked no matter what I did) they taste like plain flour and milk: nothing above usual, I'm a good cook and I didn't like the crepes, I did mine perfectly round, thin and every time remains a bit of undercooked batter in the center, plus the flavor is like in every crepes: unflavored, just for add your favorite taste: salt or sweet. (Try the basic crepes recipe by Jen, that's a keeper, and you don't need to suffer making the crepes thin as paper, they cooked through very well. Believe me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This works just fine - like anything that involves adding flour to wet ingredients or working with raw flour, you have to let it sit for a bit (I always leave Crepe batter in the fridge for at least a half hour to let the flour do its thing. If the review says it tasted like flour...they didn't let the batter sit. This is a nice recipe because it is simple, easy to remember and you can add salt, orange or lemon zet, a bit of sugar or vanilla, some thinly sliced scallions, or what have you depending on what you want to fill the crepe with. And remember the first Crepe almost always is ruined - don't sweat that. You could add a touch of melted butter to the batter (taking out a bit of the milk) and that will help the stickiness problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I am French Myslef and this is the style I remember My Grandpa making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
An excellent and easy crepe recipe! Very tasty with any sort of sweet topping. I didn't have butter or anything so I used this one instead of my usual nalesniki recipe and it turned out excellently! To the reviewers who gave this recipe such a bad rating: If you can't make this crepe recipe, don't even try Polish crepes, holy geez! Some of these reviewers must not know how to make crepes or something (they are NOT pancakes) because this one was so very simple and worked every time! Remember, with pancakes, you are making thick small things, with crepes, you fill the entire pan with a very thin layer of batter and then you roll them up after. There is nothing wrong with this recipe people, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
mm I still don't care for this recipe, OF COURSE I DO know that they are not pancakes (some people think that the world is as "smart as they are") And I've been in France, having REAL french crepes, so I can say this recipe is useless. And, also I have to say that I'm not a begginer: I'm very good at cooking. I'm not giving this recipe a third chance. The basic crepes by Jen are what I was looking for. You can try to do this recipe as many times as you want. It always will taste like plain flour. If you DO KNOW the difference between pancakes and crepes, then don't waste your time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
These were ridiculously easy to make. Great with blueberries or just plain butter with REAL maple syrup. Yummy! There were lumps when i put them in the pan, but when the Crepe was done, they were gone. Very easy to flip! No mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This recipe was delightfully simple and very tasteful. I added a tad bit of sugar to my batter and made crepes for a party. Everyone was impressed with the "Real French Crepes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
I have used this recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
quick and simple. tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
Not very good as a breakfast. Too much like a big flat noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States