Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This is THE recipe to go from. Delicious crêpes, without or without additions. I live in Québec and these are pretty much just as good as what you'd get at a fancy breakfast place. Thanks Samantha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Works great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This lacked flavor: had more of a "flour" taste and it was not easy to manage... too fragile to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
sprinkle a little lemon juice and then sugar before you fold it up and it tastes just like in paris. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This works just fine - like anything that involves adding flour to wet ingredients or working with raw flour, you have to let it sit for a bit (I always leave Crepe batter in the fridge for at least a half hour to let the flour do its thing. If the review says it tasted like flour...they didn't let the batter sit. This is a nice recipe because it is simple, easy to remember and you can add salt, orange or lemon zet, a bit of sugar or vanilla, some thinly sliced scallions, or what have you depending on what you want to fill the crepe with. And remember the first Crepe almost always is ruined - don't sweat that. You could add a touch of melted butter to the batter (taking out a bit of the milk) and that will help the stickiness problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Maybe they're not exactly real French crepes, but they're good nonetheless. I've used this recipe several times and, as always with crepes, every time it's a challenge. I use a little less milk and let it stand for about 20 minutes before using the batter. Don't get discouraged if some crepes break, especially the first one, it takes some time to learn how to flip them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Toscana, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
these are just like my mom makes they are great. they were easy and quick mayber the bad reviewers should take a cooking class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
The *best* crepes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I just made these French pancakes and they are very good! I have made these before and your recipe tastes the same. I also have been cooking for years, and for the bad reviews, I don't think these people know what French pancakes really are. These were great Samantha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I did not care for this recipe. All I could taste was the flour, and they were too doughy in the middle. I made super thin ones, thicker ones, cooked shorter and longer; I tried everything possible with these and they were all terrible! Never again. These may be a variation on a pancake that look crépe-esque, but these are not crépes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States