Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
real french crepes and the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This method turned out great for me. I don't know what Patitio, a previous reviewer giving a negative review, was doing wrong. Use a good quality pan and you will have wonderful crepes. Cheap pans never produce a good result. I fill mt crepes with a strawberry ricotta filling and top it off with a strawberry glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe reminds me of the crepes i buy in my local market for breakfast on he weekends. I filled the center with a chocolate-hazelnut spread and folded it twice to make a triangle shape, sprinkled with some powdered sugar and topped it with fruit for a delicious breakfast! It didn't taste like flour as some reviewers have stated. As a French Canadian myself, it tasted just as i expected it to, which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I also am Quebecoise, all i'd add to your recipe is a tablespoon of melted, cooled butter. and i'd not use pam but rather lightly, very lightly brush the hot pan with butter. I also add one egg white, being careful not to "fluff" while mixing. My family love crepes, one son enjoys spreading his with peanut butter then rolling a peeled banana inside :) Don't you think we need more quebecois input on this site? lol let's bring on the feves au lard and the sunday porc et petits patates brunes :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Come on people. Grease your pan a little. Let this sit for awhile after mixing- I let it sit for a little over a half hour. It makes all the difference. Unless you add anything to the mix OF COURSE its not going to taste like anything, try a little vanilla extract or cinnamon if you're using it for a dessert. In French fast food places here in MTL they use a small lattle to pour it on a flat round frying plate and make a spiral as thought drawing it starting from the middle so it comes out EXTREMELY thin. So good and so versatile!! Throw some ham, cheese and asparagus in the middle and fold it in half..mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaeli83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Although I do love a good crepe, these didn't do it for me. The batter should have a bit more egg and less milk and flour. The addition of a pinch of salt and a tsp. or so of vegetable oil would give these that true crepe flavor and consistency, as well. Waiting for the flour to set is always a good idea, but it's important to have a good base to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Medina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Easiest to remember, if you make it enough times, you don't need the recipe anymore. The most versitile, you can add whatever you want, vanilla, cinnamon, fruit, hazelnut flavor, whatever and it still comes out delicious everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
It took me a couple of times to get them thin enough and flipped well but once I did, they turned out very well. We enjoyed them with ice cream and chocolate sauce, but I would also like to try them for dinner with small bits of ham and some cheese next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I thought this recipe was phenominal. I saw it on here, realized how simple it was, jumped up and ran into the kitchen to make them. I didnt even have a whisk! i mixed the batter with a fork til it was smooth and they came out perfect. Two things i did do different: i added a couple splenda packets to the batter, because I knew i was eating them plain, and i gave my skillet a little butter before each crepe. They didnt taste like flour at all. I cant believe how easy these were. What a great breakfast to make for your sweetheart on sunday morning, maybe a little creme fraiche and fresh berries. and so fancy! Ooh la la!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is the first time I've been successful with making crepes. The batter was a little thick on the first one, so I added some water. I had also put about a tsp of salt in the batter to begin with, and beat vigorously with a fork. I don't know how other reviewers could say they tasted like flour, I had a distinct slightly eggy flavor to mine. It was perfect for the savory filling and swiss cheese I rolled up in them (then returned to the pan to let the cheese melt). These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States