Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe. I actually halved the flour and milk (and used vanilla soymilk), still used one egg, and a teaspoon of raw sugar. I grew up in Germany and these tasted just like the ones my mom used to make for us when I was younger. Now I need to get some Nutella to eat them with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
We make crepes at home all the time. I like that this recipe has no sugar, because you don't need any in the batter. However, it helps to add some vanilla extract to add flavour. Also, I usually go with 2 eggs and 1 1/2 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I've made this many times with complete success. It's a nice, easy recipe. I do use a little butter instead of the spray and sometimes I'll add a touch of vanilla to it, depending on what I'm topping them with. I use a blender to get the batter very smooth and then let it sit in the fridge for an hour before making it, sometimes even overnight just to make sure that every bit of flour is absorbed. This is an essential step, and you won't get a floury taste. It's very important to use a high quality pan, I use a 10" cast iron pan and heat it on med/high and melt the butter. Pour the batter in and immediately swirl it to fully cover the bottom. It only takes about 1 minute before it's dry enough to turn and then maybe, MAYBE 15 seconds on the flip side. Just tilt your pan over and the crepes slide right off onto your plate. SammySam, this is a great recipe I'v used for a long time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I thought this was a super easy recipe. I followed the advice of others and added vanilla. The only thing I found was that because they had to be so thin, I had to spray my frying pan each time with Pam so that I could flip them while keeping them in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
How anyone got crepes out of this, I do not know. The first one stuck and burned. Washed my pan and pancake turner, dried, heated pan up again, tried again. Same result. I didn't give it a third try. I washed my pan again, and this time added Bisquick to the batter until it resembled crepe batter. In my opinion the ratio of liquid ingredients to dry ingredients is off; the mixture is too milky, not enough flour or egg in the original recipe. I'm an experienced crepe and pancake maker, and this just didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
real french crepes and the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This method turned out great for me. I don't know what Patitio, a previous reviewer giving a negative review, was doing wrong. Use a good quality pan and you will have wonderful crepes. Cheap pans never produce a good result. I fill mt crepes with a strawberry ricotta filling and top it off with a strawberry glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This recipe reminds me of the crepes i buy in my local market for breakfast on he weekends. I filled the center with a chocolate-hazelnut spread and folded it twice to make a triangle shape, sprinkled with some powdered sugar and topped it with fruit for a delicious breakfast! It didn't taste like flour as some reviewers have stated. As a French Canadian myself, it tasted just as i expected it to, which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I also am Quebecoise, all i'd add to your recipe is a tablespoon of melted, cooled butter. and i'd not use pam but rather lightly, very lightly brush the hot pan with butter. I also add one egg white, being careful not to "fluff" while mixing. My family love crepes, one son enjoys spreading his with peanut butter then rolling a peeled banana inside :) Don't you think we need more quebecois input on this site? lol let's bring on the feves au lard and the sunday porc et petits patates brunes :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Come on people. Grease your pan a little. Let this sit for awhile after mixing- I let it sit for a little over a half hour. It makes all the difference. Unless you add anything to the mix OF COURSE its not going to taste like anything, try a little vanilla extract or cinnamon if you're using it for a dessert. In French fast food places here in MTL they use a small lattle to pour it on a flat round frying plate and make a spiral as thought drawing it starting from the middle so it comes out EXTREMELY thin. So good and so versatile!! Throw some ham, cheese and asparagus in the middle and fold it in half..mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliaeli83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States