Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I haven't made this recipe yet, but, having made crepes many times before it helps to use a good quality non stick/thick skillet or crepe pan and to take the pan off the heat when you add the batter, swirl it around until it sets and then put the pan back onto the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
these are true crepes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
this is a good recipe, but it seems to be missing something, very traditional though. good with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have no idea what people are having so much trouble with, or how they are getting the taste of flower in them. Unless, of course, they are trying to compare them to over sweet and over buttery gourmet versions. This is a real traditional French crepe recipe. Very simple, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Few things to note: 1) mix your batter and then let it sit while your pan is heating. 2) keep the temp of the heat at med-high. 3) discard the 1st crepe. 4) if you haven't mastered spreading the batter by twisting your wrist, then spread it with your spatula so that it is uniformly very thin. 5) peek under the crepe to see if it is lightly browned before flipping. This recipe is terrific, true to tradition, and very simple. Just takes some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Loved this recipe. I like that there is no sugar in it so that I can eat them with a savory filling. I ate them with a fried egg filling and nutella. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
GREAT simple RECIPE thanks for sharing!! I WAS wondering if anyone knows the recipe to the white sugary topping that I HOP puts over their fruit crepes??? It is so good and would be great on this recipe as well =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years! I like to put nutella on then and fold then over twice. Its awesome! Not sure what the persons before me problem is because this is the easiest crepes recipe ever! Just make sure when you put in the pan you make it paper thin as stated in the recipe or yes it will be undercooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I have made crepes for years and decided to try this....NEVER AGAIN...no sugar and sticks to my crepe pan...try the other recipe with the sugar in it on allrecipes...its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I always add a little vanilla. For filling, I use cream cheese, then put 2 or 3 back in the pan and add some apricot sauce kicked up with a little apricot brandy. Get everything back up to temp and serve. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States