Real French Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hema Mittal
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is by far the easiest recipe to follow, yield delicious crepes, and close to original taste that we experienced in the street of Paris. I just made them and my teenage kids enjoyed them with Nutella and sugar powder sprinkled on top. I made few changes though, I added 1 tea spoon spoon melted butter and 1 tea spoon pure vanilla extract to the batter. Also, after mixing , I kept aside the crepe batter for 30 mins to help the flour mix up with other ingredients. That really helped in making the final result delicious. My first crepe did not come out as I wanted but rest were super good so a little tip... Preheat your pan nicely and then pour the batter in the pan and spread. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is a good recipe. I did make one modification. Make the batter the night before you use it using 1/2 the milk. Just before frying, add 1/2 cup club soda instead of milk. If you want to flip rather than turn, go easy on the butter or oil in the frying pan. Sprinkle each crepe with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I was having crepe cravings & thought I would try making them. This was the perfect recipe! I added a bit if cinnamon. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These were ridiculously easy. The taste and texture were perfect. I've tried other crepe recipes, but they tasted like flour, or the melted butter called for wouldn't mix into the batter or solidified. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Looks great! Looking forward to using it! I can see that it got great reviews! Thanks for posting! I'll tell you if I like it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I loved the fact that it was not heavy or buttery like other recipes. tried with different toppings like melted cheese, cream cheese, cottage and herbs, sour cream and strawberry sauce, nutella and bananas. Trying it today in the oven, stuffed with mushrooms-spinach-sautéd onions and cottage cheese covered with béchamel sauce and shredded emmental cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusha O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Best crapes ever !!! Taste exactly like Jean-Philippe Patisserie in Vegas ... Thank you very very much !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sacco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
D the center NEVER cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
1)To prevent clumps of flour, don't add all the milk at once. Make a thick smooth batter first, and then add the remaining milk. 2) make sure to let the batter rest in the fridge at least half an hour, but overnight is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I added sugar and some orange oil and vanilla and they turned out great. First time making crepes since high school. I'm 32, lol, so it's been at least fifteen years. I also let the batter sit over night on the advice of a friend and whisked it back into solution this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Terrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States