Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The 3 cheeses suggested for this recipe are completely wrong, the only type of cheese used should be Enchilado cheese. There are only 5 easy steps for chile rellenos trust me I've been making them for over 20 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
THIS WAS THE BEST CHILI RELLENOS EVER..even better than most Mexican restaurants I've been to! I too, was very intimidated by the "list" of ingredients, just get over it! lol..I've made these several times now and freezing the peppers and sauce ahead of time is very time saving. I changed nothing! My husband loved them, my son, (40 yrs old) said I should get an award for best dish EVER!! So, thank you Fat Dog Lane for the best recipe EVER!! Sincerely, Melanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I just tried this recipe and my kids and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
OK, lets be very clear. What you put in the peppers influences the taste, but its the SAUCE that's amazing and makes this all worth it. Leftover sauce is good for just about anything, burritos, chips, eggs, anything! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is a favorite in our house, we eat them every May 5th and I get excited about it months in advance :) My husband ate authentic homemade mexican food for a couple years and recommended I swap the tri-cheese blend for queso fresco. There wasn't any at the store so I bought Cotija cheese instead and it was so amazing I've never gone back! (way better than using monterey jack). I've also heard my mother-in-law say that the batter can be too eggy so I omitted 1 egg white from it (so I use 4 whites instead of 5) and I like it that way. They can be time consuming so I often prep the peppers the day before then leave them covered in the freezer overnight. My husband says they are the best he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
One thing you can do instead of freezing the peppers is to simply remove the seeds before you roast/blacken them. Don't run them under water, just use a paper towel to rub the blackened skins off so you retain all the flavor. I use queso quesadilla with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
FINALLY! I have found a true to form recipe for rellenos! My whole family loves these, including the 7 year old. When I separate eggs for other recipes, I freeze any leftover egg whites so I always have them around. The sauce in this recipe is really special. That little bit of cinnamon sends the flavor over the top. Make the effort...such a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Labor-intensive, but worth it! Definitely agree that if you're going to do 4, you might as well do 8, or 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Totally delicious. Followed pretty much exactly. 45 minutes prep time is dreaming, though. Plan ahead, but do make this. Also, doubling the sauce would not make you sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fantastic. The sauce was to die for!! I'm going to try using it with other recipes. Wish I had used rubber gloves when I peeled and cleaned the peppers because my hands burned for awhile. Well worth the extra time and effort to create a really really good relleno. Next time I'm going to take one persons advice and make a bunch of peppers and extra sauce and freeze to be used as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States