Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Oh, it is me again, Ellie May! I LOVE this recipe, it is a pain to do it all right but SO worth it! If you are going to do 4 chiles, go ahead and do 8-12, depending on size; eggwhites in the original recipe will allow for this. I make this 2-5 times a year, but mostly when Hatch, NM chiles are in harvest. We roast 20-40 lbs. of green chiles on our grill then freeze them, setting aside BIG fleshy/straight ones for this recipe so we can cook these all year. Best tip: cheese/flour them on all sides and freeze individually on cookie sheets. Once they are frozen, dump in a freezer bag so you can finish anytime in the winter when fresh isn't available. Cover again w/flour right before dipping in eggwhite then frying. I cook them slightly frozen so the cheese won't melt in the frying pan! I usually cook the sauce and only put in the food processor AFTER cooking it all together, so it will be smooth. And I save THAT too, in a freezerbag! When defrosting sauce, I may add fresh lime juice, or other spices to spark it up. MOST IMPORTANT, make sure egg whites are ROOM TEMP before whipping, and oil in frying pan is so hot in an iron skillet, that it is SCARY! Stay on top of it and turn with tongs; drain oil off on paper towels. Serve with sour cream and/or avocados for those that cannot take the heat, plus some hot sauce from MEXICO to keep authentic for those who want more! Nothing is better with this than a slice of lime, and a Negro Modelo Beer in a frosty glass. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I use the side of a spoon to scrape/remove the charred skin from the chilis & it works great without tearing the soft chili! Be sure your oil is hot when you start to batter the chilis so you can lay them directly into the pan. The batter is kinda delicate, treat it gently :o) You can also remove the 1 egg yolk completely & just use the egg whites...I like it either way. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is an excellent recipe: very clearly written with step by step directions that won't let you fail. And the final dish??? Superb and very authentic. It's not a super difficult recipe, but will take some time and probably suited for at least the intermediate cook. But definetly try this one. Make your sauce while the chiles sit for a bit in the freezer. I usually tweek recipes that I read, and the only thing I did differently here was to use long cubes of mexican melting cheese (queso quesadilla) instead of the shredded mix, because that is what I had in the frig. But really, I wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great recipe! Don't pass this up because of the length of the ingredient list (you will have most of them in your cupboard) or the length of instructions. They are just very detailed so the recipe is fool proof. Not that it isn't time consuming; I will be taking the advice to make the peppers ahead of time and freezing them to cut down on prep time the day of. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
THIS RECIPE IS FABULOUS! I have made it at least seven times and it comes out perfectly. The red sauce is so tasty, I always double the recipe on the sauce so I can use it in other recipes during the week! I also have added some ricotta to the cheese/stuffing mixture to help hold it all together. I have also found success in using a deep bowl to batter the chilis before fryiing, dipping the chili all the way in and using a spoon to drege the batter up the chili. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I eat this at nearly every Mexican restaurant we go to, and this recipe was excellent! Although it took quite awhile to prepare, it was worth it. The fluffy egg white batter made a nice, thick and crispy crust. The freezer part was really smart because of the type of batter; it would have been hard to coat the peppers if they were soft. I used some quesdilla and cotija cheese that I had on hand, but it did not melt very well, after just 5 minutes of frying on each side, so perhaps I will deep-fry next time as someone suggested. I was too worried to leave them frying longer because I wanted to keep the light golden brown crust. Zapped leftovers in the microwave the second day, and still good. Served with some red beans and rice on the side to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My husband would order Chiles Rellenos every time we went to any Mexican resturaunt. After tasting "mine"... this recipe...we no longer have to go OUT for his favorite dish. I will stage peppers frozen so they can be cooked at any notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
these were good. i was worried about the cheese oozing out. As long as you pat the batter on thick, all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My family loved these! Although time-consuming, I thought they were worth it. I'll be making these again, and actually plan to make the sauce for topping enchiladas. Yummy sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
There is truly no way to describe how delicious this is! The only thing I did differently was I blackened the peppers on the flame of the gas stove. Everything else was followed. I love this recipe. You can add pepper jack cheese to give it a little kick. I have played around with different types of cheeses. I don't it gets better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States