Real Chiles Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I've had my fair share of attempts at making chile rellenos and they have never come out as perfect as these do. My dad orders chile rellenos everytime we go to a mexican restaurant and he claims he has yet to find any that will beat these. I think the sauce also really makes the dish, it's delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is the best chiles rellenos recipe I've ever made. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the huge amount it takes to make. The batter didn't really stick either. But the taste gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Definitely a keeper. It's a rich dish, however, and really must be served with Spanish rice. Suggest you make the sauce ahead of time; it's a lot to contend with at one time. The peppers, after being broiled and skinned, are quite fragile and need tender care and attention while stuffing and cooking. Did not need toothpicks to keep them together; doubt the toothpicks would have kept them together in any event. Just held the cheese-filled mushy peppers together with my hands as I dredged them in flour; placed them carefully on the tray and the flour kept them together. Being in the freezer 30 minutes keeps them from falling apart during the breading. I only used 4 eggs (4 whites and 1 egg yoke) as I was using extra large eggs. Still had enough batter left for 1-2 more peppers. Next time I'll just use 3 eggs for 4 peppers. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. It is one of my favorite Mexican dishes and this is an authentic restaurant style rellenos. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Yummy! This took me way longer than expected, as it was my first time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
awesome oppossom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
AWESOME!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This recipe is the best I've found for authentic chiles rellenos. Labor intensive, yes, and worth every second it takes to make them, and the sauce is better than many sauces I've tried over the years in various restaurants; a perfect balance of sweetness, tartness and warm, spicy notes. Very, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerville, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
So Good...light fluffy batter for frying. New favorite for our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Real Poutine

See how to make French fries and cheese smothered in flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States