Real Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Makes the most amazing chicken noodle soup!! I buy a whole bird and make the Sticky Rotisserie chicken from this site. After dinner I remove the remaining meat and put the carcass, skin and everything else in cheese cloth. After making the broth I simply remove the two cheese cloth "bags" and add noodles, peas and the leftover chicken I pulled from the night before. This is one of the few recipes my entire family LOVES to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I dont have ice cube trays, so I use muffin pans. Each holds exactly 1/3 cup of stock, so it makes measuring how much I need for recipes very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This a really good stock I make mine the same the only thing that I do different is I use a large tea type ball and put all the spices in there that way I don't have to use the cloth. I also use the ball when I cook corned beef I put the spices in the ball that way I don't have to plow through all of the spices still have the flavor but no mess. I also strain the just of the chicken broth with a chinois....It is a very fine strainer really really fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A bsic stock recipe to which I also added fresh sage leaves. Homemade stock is always great to have on hand and really SOOOO easy to make many quarts to freeze for fresh homemade stock anytime you need it. Better than the boxes/cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
i also add sage and sometimes thyme. i save vegetable peals and trimmings instead of using "good" veggies. onion skin adds nice color to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
vary Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lone Pine, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This recipe produces a good stock but seems overly fussy. Most recipes put all the ingredients in together. If all of the solids are going to be strained out, why bother with tying herbs up in cheesecloth. Also all of the ingredients are going to cook for at least of couple of hours so why bother staggering their addition. Just put them in at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have been making stock like this for years! I always have everyone I know save their turkey carcass after Thanksgiving for me. I roast the bones and veggies to a deep brown color as it enriches the flavor of the stock. I never use cheesecloth, just strain out all the bones/veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Very easy and worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States