Razzy Blue Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My kids thought this was great. I used a frozen banana along with the frozen blueberries, "lite" raspberry yogurt and white grape juice (that was all I had....if you have clumsy kids like me, you'd understand....). Gone, baby, gone. They inhaled it. Thanks, CC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Healthy, and definitely very filling! Great for breakfast on-the-go. For the yogurt I used three 100g cups of Astro's Fat-Free Zero acai-raspberry. I had a white grape-peach juice blend on hand and used a 1/3 cup of it instead of the 1/4 cup of concord grape juice. Also substituted 2% milk for the 1% buttermilk. My banana was already frozen prior to making the recipe (as I always do when I've got overly ripe ones lying around). Can't wait for the hubby-to-be and the little one to try this when they get home! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Icy cold, creamy, and just plain delicious! Not to mention a great way to use up the last of the buttermilk! I subbed vanilla yogurt for the raspberry and wheat germ for the flaxseed meal as that's what I had on hand. Freezing the fruit first is a great idea. This had a nice sweetness and it's something you can definitely feel good about having for breakfast. Thanks for another great recipe CC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The first time I tried this recipe it was simply wonderful. The 2nd and 3rd time, however, I was a bit dissapointed. Here is what I did different the first time: I used Yoplait light raspberry cheese cake yogurt, and since I didn't have grape jucie, I used Minite Made Lemon Aide. Wow - did that turn a very good recipe and make like 10% better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Mmmmmm, so good! Only change was I used almond milk. Delicious "breakfast on the go" for my girls. Now they ask me to make it so they can take it on their walk to their bus stop. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Rather than tossing those uneaten, overripe bananas, just peel and pop into the freezer in a freezer bag. Taking one out for a smoothie becomes quick & easy. The banana adds natural sweetness (if it's overripe) & creaminess. The buttermilk also adds creaminess and a bit of tang. Low/fat free yogurt works in this recipe. This smoothie is more like 'breakfast in a glass' compared to a typical smoothie, so if you want it less filling/lower calorie, you can leave out the almonds and oats. Makes 3 8 oz. smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very good, very filling! I omitted the banana because I'm not a fan of the flavor in smoothies (and reduced the yogurt and buttermilk just slightly because of this), and added a little honey as sweetener instead. (I also used vanilla yogurt instead of raspberry because it is what I had. I'd like to try it with the raspberry, but I thought the vanilla worked well.) I love the nutty flavor imparted by the almonds, oats, and flax; it goes so well with the blueberries! I would never have thought to add buttermilk to a smoothie, but it gives it a wonderful zing! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Terrific recipe! Now I have a good use for the ripe bananas. I used strawberry yougurt and apple juice since that is what I had. It was very flavorful and crunchy. We had bran flax muffins with it for breakfast and it was a delightful change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I'll admit I was skeptical about the combination of grape juice and buttermilk, but I was pleasantly surprised! Neither of the flavors were overpowering, but you could still taste them! :) I left out the almonds due to an allergy and I subbed fat free vanilla yogurt for the raspberry yogurt. Update: I made it today using 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt, 1 Tbsp. sugar, and tossing in a few raspberries. Delicious! Thanks again for a wonderful smoothie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. It was much too thick to even pour, so I added a little milk. The taste is great. Love the nutiness. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea
Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States