Razzy Blue Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Rather than tossing those uneaten, overripe bananas, just peel and pop into the freezer in a freezer bag. Taking one out for a smoothie becomes quick & easy. The banana adds natural sweetness (if it's overripe) & creaminess. The buttermilk also adds creaminess and a bit of tang. Low/fat free yogurt works in this recipe. This smoothie is more like 'breakfast in a glass' compared to a typical smoothie, so if you want it less filling/lower calorie, you can leave out the almonds and oats. Makes 3 8 oz. smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very good, very filling! I omitted the banana because I'm not a fan of the flavor in smoothies (and reduced the yogurt and buttermilk just slightly because of this), and added a little honey as sweetener instead. (I also used vanilla yogurt instead of raspberry because it is what I had. I'd like to try it with the raspberry, but I thought the vanilla worked well.) I love the nutty flavor imparted by the almonds, oats, and flax; it goes so well with the blueberries! I would never have thought to add buttermilk to a smoothie, but it gives it a wonderful zing! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Terrific recipe! Now I have a good use for the ripe bananas. I used strawberry yougurt and apple juice since that is what I had. It was very flavorful and crunchy. We had bran flax muffins with it for breakfast and it was a delightful change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My kids thought this was great. I used a frozen banana along with the frozen blueberries, "lite" raspberry yogurt and white grape juice (that was all I had....if you have clumsy kids like me, you'd understand....). Gone, baby, gone. They inhaled it. Thanks, CC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I'll admit I was skeptical about the combination of grape juice and buttermilk, but I was pleasantly surprised! Neither of the flavors were overpowering, but you could still taste them! :) I left out the almonds due to an allergy and I subbed fat free vanilla yogurt for the raspberry yogurt. Update: I made it today using 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt, 1 Tbsp. sugar, and tossing in a few raspberries. Delicious! Thanks again for a wonderful smoothie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Healthy, and definitely very filling! Great for breakfast on-the-go. For the yogurt I used three 100g cups of Astro's Fat-Free Zero acai-raspberry. I had a white grape-peach juice blend on hand and used a 1/3 cup of it instead of the 1/4 cup of concord grape juice. Also substituted 2% milk for the 1% buttermilk. My banana was already frozen prior to making the recipe (as I always do when I've got overly ripe ones lying around). Can't wait for the hubby-to-be and the little one to try this when they get home! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
For my boys I left out the oats and flax - but it was very yummy! They really loved it and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. It was much too thick to even pour, so I added a little milk. The taste is great. Love the nutiness. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea
Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Icy cold, creamy, and just plain delicious! Not to mention a great way to use up the last of the buttermilk! I subbed vanilla yogurt for the raspberry and wheat germ for the flaxseed meal as that's what I had on hand. Freezing the fruit first is a great idea. This had a nice sweetness and it's something you can definitely feel good about having for breakfast. Thanks for another great recipe CC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The first time I tried this recipe it was simply wonderful. The 2nd and 3rd time, however, I was a bit dissapointed. Here is what I did different the first time: I used Yoplait light raspberry cheese cake yogurt, and since I didn't have grape jucie, I used Minite Made Lemon Aide. Wow - did that turn a very good recipe and make like 10% better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States