Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is actually the recipe that led me to this site a couple of years ago. I didn't love this as is, but I'll keep working with it, now that I have more experience making hummus. For those concerned with the safety of eating this: It's absolutely safe, and it's better for you than "cooked" hummus because it's easier to digest. The problem with the funky smell could have come from your sprouting method. Beans need to be sprouted in a large jar with a mesh or cheesecloth lid, lying on its side (so the beans are spread out) in a dark but well-ventilated area. If yours were moldy, it could have been because there was not enough air getting to them. As for the question of whether this is raw: It's raw because the beans are not cooked; "regular" hummus uses cooked beans and is therefore not raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My 4 yo picky non-vegetarian son who likes regular hummus LOVES this recipe. I am so grateful for this recipe. My son and I've recently developed hayfever and we are trying to fortify our bodies with more enzymes from fresh raw food. Other than the basic salad and fresh cut vegetables, I had yet to venture into real raw food prep. This is a great introduction. I did make an error though, I soaked the beans for almost 2 days (changing water twice) and forgot to let the beans sprout, nevertheless it was just as good and I'm sure the enzymes were activated. I also held back a bit on the garlic (i used one big clove) because I wasn't sure if my son would like it too strong since the restaurant versions we usually consume taste rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I never want regular hummus again. I'm serious. This is beyond hummus.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I loved this whole idea. Sprouting was a blast. I let my sprouts grow to about 3/4 inch, then placed in refrigerator. They grew in the fridge too. I made two batches, one without placing in hot water, and one with. The truly raw hummus did indeed have a very green taste, once the sprouts were ground in. The other hummus (beans placed in the boiled water) was not as strong at all. Some of us ate the raw version (poor baby didn't have a choice :)) and the others much preferred the one according to recipe. Great idea, will do again, if just to sprout beans for snacking! P.S. Flavor-wise, the raw sprouted beans taste like fresh green beans, and the heated-sprouted ones tasted just like corn on the cob to us! Really! 12/4/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I cannot tell you how many hummus recipies I have tried. They've all been terrible. I was actually getting ready to give up, and go back to buying it, when I found this recipe! This hummus is fantastic. It's easy, a no-brainer to make and very healthy in that it's raw. My husband and even my TWO YEAR old love this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
For the reviewer who stated "all hummus is raw"...you are incorrect.Hummus is made from COOKED beans (all canned beans have been cooked prior to canning) in most cases (if not all) which leads to a "Cooked" final product.The natural enzymes in the beans have been modified and altered by the cooking...any temp over 114 degrees F. constitutes "cooked".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Really good hummus, tastes like normal cooked hummus. As a matter of fact, after letting the beans steep in hot water for 60 seconds, they went from tasting like fresh peas to normal garbanzo beans. It makes me wonder just how "raw" they are in the final product. I'm sure they're a little better for you than canned garbanzo beans, but probably not by much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Love this recipe. I have made recipe several times. I have never had any problems with anything smelling moldy or bad. Perhaps those reviewers had bad/old garbanzo beans to begin with. I have to admit that I usually make hummus from canned garbanzo beans as it is faster and easier, but this recipe is by far my favorite when I have the time. I add different things to flavor it differently. Roasted red pepper is a favorite additive. Artichoke hearts and lots of garlic is another favorite of mine. I mix all the ingredients except for the water and add it last only as needed. If the texture still isn't right, I will add a little extra virgin olive oil. I also usually add some ground cumin for more flavor. As a garlic lover, I seldom only add 4 cloves of garlic - usually I add a lot more (about double that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I've been eating the wrong thing all this time and not liking what I tasted! Now, after having made this recipe for Christmas to include my Iranian son-in-law (who gave it two thumbs up!), I've changed my mind...it is really, really excellent hummus. It's very easy, too. I will be making this again, particularly since I had absolutely no problem getting it to look like and act like hummus. Thank you so very much for sharing. You've done me a great favor and others, too, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This hummus was great. Will make again. But, make sure you add enough water. It was probably my fault, but mine was too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States