Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
It's good, but after you put the beans in the hot water it's not really raw anymore. Rich, but not worth the effort for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Really good hummus, tastes like normal cooked hummus. As a matter of fact, after letting the beans steep in hot water for 60 seconds, they went from tasting like fresh peas to normal garbanzo beans. It makes me wonder just how "raw" they are in the final product. I'm sure they're a little better for you than canned garbanzo beans, but probably not by much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I thought i followed theis recipe exactly and to me, well, it just tasted raw. I threw the whole thing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I didn't find this any different from normal hummus, but it was just as good and also easier and better for you - so its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I cannot tell you how many hummus recipies I have tried. They've all been terrible. I was actually getting ready to give up, and go back to buying it, when I found this recipe! This hummus is fantastic. It's easy, a no-brainer to make and very healthy in that it's raw. My husband and even my TWO YEAR old love this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I have to give this five stars. My husband ate almost the entire recipe by himself. It is EXTREMLY strange tasting, but very good. You almost think it has cheese in it because it's so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it's nothing special. I prefer regular hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I've been eating the wrong thing all this time and not liking what I tasted! Now, after having made this recipe for Christmas to include my Iranian son-in-law (who gave it two thumbs up!), I've changed my mind...it is really, really excellent hummus. It's very easy, too. I will be making this again, particularly since I had absolutely no problem getting it to look like and act like hummus. Thank you so very much for sharing. You've done me a great favor and others, too, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This hummus was great. Will make again. But, make sure you add enough water. It was probably my fault, but mine was too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I will never buy hummus again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States