Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Different from other cooked-bean varieties of hummus - this tastes fresh, clean and "sprouty". I used a tsp of garlic powder instead of fresh garlic because my kids aren't fans of spicy garlic, and I used liquid aminos instead of salt. I only had 1 T of tahini left in the jar so blended in some whole sesame seeds. The best part of this recipe was watching the beans come to life on the kitchen counter - the kids loved helping rinse them and check for sprouts (we sprouted the beans in a bowl covered with a towel). Thanks for the recipe, Emilkalil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
The blurb at the beginning is misleading - all hummus is "raw". I have never heard or seen a recipe where you cook hummus, so I am not sure where they are going with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
If you like hummus you'll love this. I even thinned out the leftovers and used it as a salad dressing. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Believe me, this is just like (or even better than) the regular humman from cooked chickpeas. Plus all the goodies from raw ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really good. Excellant taste after the hummus was cold. Takes time to make but really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I was really excited to make this hummus after reading the great reviews, but after finishing it, I would be very hesitant to share it with anyone else. The flavor is odd to say the least, and I couldn't get the hummus smooth no matter how many times I ran it through the processor. It may be that I don't have a powerful enough machine to get the beans as fine as they should be, but this hummus fell way below my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This hummus is definnately worth the time to sprout the beans- very light with all the same great taste as traditional hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I did exactly as it said, and it was nasty. The beans smelled foul after sprouting, and it tasted the same way. I did the boil water, sit for one minute thing and it was still awful. I think I will stick to the cooked chick peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
A very tasty treat! I just finished blending the hummus after waiting through the soaking and sprouting stages eagerly...and I was not disappointed. I am going to start the next batch soaking today because I know the hummus I just made will not last for three days! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I love this simple hummus and it is quite easy to jazz it up and make it your own by adding different things such as garam masala or other spices. I recently also mixed pumpkin and doubled the spices. My brother in law ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States