Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My 4 yo picky non-vegetarian son who likes regular hummus LOVES this recipe. I am so grateful for this recipe. My son and I've recently developed hayfever and we are trying to fortify our bodies with more enzymes from fresh raw food. Other than the basic salad and fresh cut vegetables, I had yet to venture into real raw food prep. This is a great introduction. I did make an error though, I soaked the beans for almost 2 days (changing water twice) and forgot to let the beans sprout, nevertheless it was just as good and I'm sure the enzymes were activated. I also held back a bit on the garlic (i used one big clove) because I wasn't sure if my son would like it too strong since the restaurant versions we usually consume taste rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I never want regular hummus again. I'm serious. This is beyond hummus.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I will never buy hummus again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This hummus was great. Will make again. But, make sure you add enough water. It was probably my fault, but mine was too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I've been eating the wrong thing all this time and not liking what I tasted! Now, after having made this recipe for Christmas to include my Iranian son-in-law (who gave it two thumbs up!), I've changed my mind...it is really, really excellent hummus. It's very easy, too. I will be making this again, particularly since I had absolutely no problem getting it to look like and act like hummus. Thank you so very much for sharing. You've done me a great favor and others, too, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it's nothing special. I prefer regular hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I have to give this five stars. My husband ate almost the entire recipe by himself. It is EXTREMLY strange tasting, but very good. You almost think it has cheese in it because it's so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I cannot tell you how many hummus recipies I have tried. They've all been terrible. I was actually getting ready to give up, and go back to buying it, when I found this recipe! This hummus is fantastic. It's easy, a no-brainer to make and very healthy in that it's raw. My husband and even my TWO YEAR old love this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I didn't find this any different from normal hummus, but it was just as good and also easier and better for you - so its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I thought i followed theis recipe exactly and to me, well, it just tasted raw. I threw the whole thing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States