Raw Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I've been making my own hummus for a few months now but never knew I could make it raw. It was super easy, amazingly tasty and definitely worth the wait. Thank you so so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
WOW, just WOW! I've tried to make so many hummus recipes and while some had a good flavor, none of them had the right consistency...until this recipe! This makes the most perfectly smooth, creamy, delicious hummus. I'm not sure if I used extra large lemons on accident because mine had a VERY strong lemon flavor...but a few more garbanzo beans and some extra cloves of garlic and it was perfect!! Soaking the beans makes all the difference; way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Delicious! This was my first time making raw hummus, and it turned out perfectly. It's amazing the flavors that come through in raw hummus as opposed to store-bought processed hummus. This was definitely a crowd-pleaser and husband pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is really good. It is raw so it has a slightly different texture/taste than regular cooked beans hummus but it is delicious! I added a handful of fresh lemon balm from my garden to the processer. I also drizzled with olive oil. I soaked the beans for about 4 days but there was just small sprouts inside the shells still. It still came out great and I know the raw sprout enzymes are still in the goodness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I had higher expectations for this recipe due to the 4 out of 5 star rating. I thought the beans tasted quite green and could use a bit more salt. I added extra tahini, but my regular hummus recipe calls for 1/4 cup so that is what I was used to as far as flavor goes. This hummus was decent, but I miss that garbanzo flavor. I agree with another poster who said these taste like green peas. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent flavor (but I cooked the beans after the sprouting for about an hour) - missed the part about putting in the hot water. Next time will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
AMAZING flavor! I added two pinches of Cumin and used organic sesame Tahini, then added about two tablespoons of raw sunflower seeds. Very very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
So delicious. Also, if you don't think that you'll eat it all, it freezes quite well (which makes it handy for a time-deficient college student like myself). Boiling the beans is a MUST that you should not forego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I had a bunch of assorted beans I'd just sprouted as a first try, and I didn't like them. Then I found your recipe and used them. Wow. Very good. And this is from a Greek girl with very high hummus standards. Will definitely sprout beans again (garbanzos this time) just to reproduce this. ps, was great spread on grilled eggplant and rolled. Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I was really disappointed with this. I try to incorporate a large amount of raw, living foods in my diet, and I sprout beans and grains often. Unfortunately, even after it sat in boiled water for a few minutes, the beans (and the resulting hummus) tasted like grass! It's edible, but not yummy. Did I do something wrong to the beans? I'm not sure. I may experiment with it another time, but I am not happy with this result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States