Raw Cucumber Soup (Gluten and Dairy-Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I did not believe this could be as bland as one of the reviewers said. Even though I used organic produce the lemon and garlic did not create the fresh flavor I expected. This does not feel like a cucumber soup, more like an avocado soup. I was not successful in rescuing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great taste and filling. I added extra garlic to suit our taste. Just started raw vegan and we have had this two days this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this recipe over the summer and it was delicious! We substituted vegetable stock for the water for a little added flavor and topped with fresh cilantro. Also made a meal out of it and topped with blackened shrimp! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent soup! I was a little skeptical since cucumbers are fairly flavorless, but this was a hit with me, my husband and my parents. It has a great subtle flavor and is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I LOVE cucumbers, so was very excited to try this. Although it was refreshing, it was also pretty bland. I will prbly make it again, but might just tweek the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
We are a gluten and dairy free house. The avocado in this recipe certainly gave the illusion of creamy. Great idea! Maybe my lemon was too big and juicy because the lemon flavor overpowered all of the others. I would flavor with the lemon to taste after blending all of the ingredients. I see where soup lovers would like this fresh recipe, it just wasn't for us. My husband wanted more flavor and ended up dumping a myriad of spices into his. The kids wouldn't eat it and it wasn't my favorite either (although I still think the over lemony flavor had something to do with that). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was great. I didn't have avocado so I substituted green peas - it was tasty although avocado would have been better. I also reduced the oil to 2 teaspoons. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I made it exactly as shown in the recipe, and it came out creamy,refreshing, and wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made mine in the blender just as easy...skipped the garlic, used dill instead of mint and lime instead of lemon....very tasty served cold with a few ice cubes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Wow, so simple but so good. Honestly, I just winged it and it was exceptional. I had no zucchini so I omitted that. I added a dash of cayenne, a handful of cilantro, then tasted it and added a bit more salt and lemon juice. Even my 11-year old liked it. Will wonders never cease?! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States