Raw Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Wow this recipe was so good! I made some slight modifications, though. I added raw coconut and flax seed in place of sesame seeds. Thanks for the tip. But to keep them from crumbling, I added raw almond butter. Then after I pressed it all in the dish, I poured a 1/2 cup of distilled water over the top and stuck in the freezer for 15 minutes. YUMMY for a starting raw foodist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Yummy treat!!! These disappeared within hours - I could not keep my 4 kids out of them. Decreased walnuts to 1 2/3 c. and made up differnce with ground flax seed. Added 1 T. or less of PB, and subbed a bit of molasses for honey I was lacking. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I thought this was really good and healthy!! Great way to satisfy the chocolate craving. Like soemone suggested, I poured 1/2 cup of water on top but maybe it was a little too much, next time I'm going to only pour about 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This is an excellent raw brownie. You can eat it with no bad consequences for your body. Great for that sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I love these! What a healthy treat. They are also kid approved! I added peanut butter as other reviewers suggested, and used pure maple syrup in place of honey. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
These are great. Our little girls even love them! This is a great recipe to start with, the possibilities ARE truly endless. Definitely NOT a BROWNIE, reminds me more of an energy bar. We've substituted oat flour for all of the carob, added some protein powder and coconut and they were amazing. Get Creative-these are so good. We make this recipe frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
Yummy and Healthy! This is a good snack for kids and adults alike. Carob, sesame seed and sunflower seeds are good sources of calcium as well as other good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
Very good!! The carob powder was a little different at first. But after I got used to the taste I couldn't stop eating them. It's a healthy snack that you can eat for breakfast. The second time I made them, I added in raisins, unsalted soybeans, and less carob powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Very tasty and addictive! I customized a bit using some coconut and flaxseed because I had no sesame seed. Added TBS peanut butter and decreased walnuts - room to be versatile because it's no-bake. (and a lot less guilt over traditional brownies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Delicious! I will make these again and again. Kinda felt like a hippie, but honestly the possibilities are quite endless. I used crushed Walnuts and toasted almonds (instead of sesame seeds and sunflower seeds) and then in the intrest of fibre, some All Bran (about a cup). At first i thought the 1/2 cup of honey wouldn't saturate the dry mixture but after stiring for a bit with a wooden spoon, the honey saturated the mix and once chilled made a crisp, totally yummy, easy to cut into bars, treat! Next time i will use WHO KNOWS! all sorts of stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States