Raw Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious!! Been a raw vegan all my life (I'm 48!) and this is the first batch of brownies I've ever made. Just never thought about brownies before now. Major yummy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thank you. I took liberties, but I needed something to start with. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I'm on a raw food diet and this totally satisfied my sweet tooth. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNJROSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I just made this for the first time and doubled the recipe for my big family. Took some of the other reviewer's suggestions and substituted ground flax for the sesame seed and added 2Tbsp almond butter to help it stick together better. I didn't have any walnuts, so I upped the sunflower seed/rolled oats. Oh, and I also added a bit of coconut oil. Then, to press them into a glass dish, I lined it with wax paper, just to make removed simpler. These are amazing. The carob is great, although I wouldn't call these brownies, more like a glorified chocolate granola bar of sorts. Still, an amazing treat for when you are wanting a healthy sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I have made these a few times now. These are little tasty bites. The raw diet and recipes are not for everyone. However, from other raw sweets I have tried these are pretty good. The flavor and texture is like a mix between brownie batter and a no bake cookie. Only change I make is using plain unsweetened cocoa powder instead of carob as I find it healthy also. I grind the raw sunflower seeds and sesame seeds in my Vitamix on low then on medium for about 30-40 seconds, the oatmeal, cocoa, and lastly the nuts at the same speed until ground. I pour it into a small bowl and mixed in the honey. I did 1/4 of the recipe to try it the first time. The next two times I did 1/2 of a recipe, as walnuts are just so expensive right now. Instead of making squares I like to just scoop them with my cookie scoop and keep in the refridegerator wrapped, until I want one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Substituted real cocoa instead of the carob, and added two teaspoons of vanilla, and it turned this recipe from yuk to YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not bad, not good. I ended up adding peanut butter since others suggested it and they are just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Excellent! I used ground flax seed in place of the sesame seeds, added a few pumpkin seeds, used brown rice syrup instead of honey, added about 1/4 cup of almond butter, and a splash of rice milk. These were wonderful!! I am considering adding crispy rice cereal to the next batch and maybe even coconut or dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These would actually be healthier with cocoa. Carob has a lot of fat in it, when we were kids my mom was a health nut and basically ruined our childhood with that nasty stuff, it wasn't until we were grown and it was too late that they started reporting that carob wasn't very good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasandchristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States