Raw Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Wow this recipe was so good! I made some slight modifications, though. I added raw coconut and flax seed in place of sesame seeds. Thanks for the tip. But to keep them from crumbling, I added raw almond butter. Then after I pressed it all in the dish, I poured a 1/2 cup of distilled water over the top and stuck in the freezer for 15 minutes. YUMMY for a starting raw foodist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
As a healthy alternative bars are amazing! However, if you're just looking for whatever tastes the best, these probably aren't for you. The recipe can use some changes: I replaced the carob with cocoa, replaced the oats with granola, replaced a portion of the nuts with shredded coconut, and added 4 Tablespoons peanut butter and 1/4 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
My health food nut husband who eats EVERYTHING, even things in the frig for 2 wks would NOT eat these. They were awful. I'm sorry I wasted my time making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Yuck! All I can say is Yuck. My 10 year old begged me not to ever make it again. I could stomach it with a ton of honey, but plain is horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alysia C.
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I really liked these. I used almonds instead of walnuts, grinded in the blender with the sunflower seeds. Also i used regular chocolate because I had no carob on hand. I also added some peanut butter like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Amazing. We loved them. My daughter even burned the sesame seeds and put them in anyway (definitely NOT recommended) but they were still excellent and I can imagine variations and possibilities. Rice syrup is a super substitute for honey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
These are great. Our little girls even love them! This is a great recipe to start with, the possibilities ARE truly endless. Definitely NOT a BROWNIE, reminds me more of an energy bar. We've substituted oat flour for all of the carob, added some protein powder and coconut and they were amazing. Get Creative-these are so good. We make this recipe frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I modified it to my own taste, a little cashew butter, flax seeds, less walnuts, some rice crisps in the end. The biggest flaw I see is calling it a brownie, its a little misleading, to me it seems more of a Carob Chew..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasandchristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
wonderful brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States