Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
My grandmother made this cake for us grandchildren for many many years, but the REAL recipe is made with 2 cubes of butter not OIL, everything else is the same. It is not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This cake is very good. Used 1/2 cup less sugar in the cake, and 1 cup less sugar in the frosting, as I find with too much sugar you can't taste the food as well. Also works well subbing applesauce for half the oil, and using half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This recipe is "the Best". I read others reviews and expected the batter to be thick, but not soooo thick. It was more like a crumble mixture, and I literally had to press it into the pan with my hand. But, to my surprise, it was fantastic! Everyone loved it, as it was quite different with a very cruchy crust and soft and almost toffee like middle. Forget the frosting, it doesn't need it. Lovely cold but extra special served warm as a desert, with whipped cream and dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Excellent apple cake! Don't be discouraged by the batter's thickness, it is actually more like a dough than a batter, but remember that apples are full of water and it balances out. The icing is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
Really is the BEST apple cake ever! I usually make it without the frosting, it's still good. Even tried it using wheat flour. One note: when the recipe says "batter will be thick," that is the understatement of the year. The batter will be extremely thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
first time i've used vegetable oil for a cake and you know what? it tasted great:) very flavourful but i think next time i'll reduce oil a bit as the middle was just a tad too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was not a hit at our house. The cake had a very oily texture. We did not eat it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
This cake is a real winner. It opened to rave reviews the first time I made it. Yes, the batter is super thick, but the finished product is so moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Just make it according to the recipe. Quit making changes. It is wonderful just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I loved this cake!!!! I made this for my grandmother's birthday. I was nervous because she is a great baker! Everyone loved it and my grandma had two pieces!! I did add golden raisins, crushed pecans and vanilla to the batter. I also used the cream cheese II recipe from this site and added cinnamon and white vanilla for extra flavor and topped with sugared pecans!!! This was a big hit! Thanks for the recipe I will definitely be making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States