Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
My grandmother made this cake for us grandchildren for many many years, but the REAL recipe is made with 2 cubes of butter not OIL, everything else is the same. It is not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Everyone ***loved*** this cake! It was so easy to make and so scrumptious. I do think that the cream cheese frosting, though delicious in itself, is overwhelming for this cake, although my son and aunt totally disagree with me. I plan on making this recipe very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Strong, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
The whole family enjoyed this apple cake!! I altered it a wee bit.. I used 1 cup of sugar $ tsp. of stevia, olive oil & added raisins & walnuts. It was quite crispy on the outside & chewy on the inside. I also iced it with half the suggested amount. Will definately make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I loved this cake! I changed it a little to make it a little healthier. I split the oil and used half olive oil and half applesauce. I also used baking Equal and egg substitute. I didn't use all of the conf sugar in the icing and only used half of the actual icing. But it turned out excellant and was awesome at breakfast with coffee. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This cake was nice, loved the chunks of apple in the cake, but it wasn't AMAZING! Also, I cooked my cake for nearly an hour and although it looked and felt cooked from the outside (I did the test to check it was cooked, ie. press the cake and it should spring back), when i removed it from the tin it was pure goo in the middle. I had to put it in the microwave for 5 minutes. Then it was perfect. It really was a tasty cake but it just lacked something- more spice definately needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This cake is very good. Used 1/2 cup less sugar in the cake, and 1 cup less sugar in the frosting, as I find with too much sugar you can't taste the food as well. Also works well subbing applesauce for half the oil, and using half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This cake is delicious. It has a nice flavor like a spice cake but not an overpowering taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This recipe is "the Best". I read others reviews and expected the batter to be thick, but not soooo thick. It was more like a crumble mixture, and I literally had to press it into the pan with my hand. But, to my surprise, it was fantastic! Everyone loved it, as it was quite different with a very cruchy crust and soft and almost toffee like middle. Forget the frosting, it doesn't need it. Lovely cold but extra special served warm as a desert, with whipped cream and dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
first time i've used vegetable oil for a cake and you know what? it tasted great:) very flavourful but i think next time i'll reduce oil a bit as the middle was just a tad too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This cake was very good. My boyfriend said it was just like his Mom's but without the nuts. I will add the nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States