Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
So delicious! I was going to add the frosting - but I really don't think it needs it. I used really tart granny smith apples and it was perfect! I will definitely make this one again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Beautiful! Wonderfully easy to make, and fabulous flavour! Many thanks for helping me to maintain my reputation as a cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Every single person that had this cake asked for the recipe. This cake is crunchy on top and moist in the middle. One of my friends said it was "the strangest, best cake" she had ever eaten. :-) I would highly recommend it!!! But, do be aware that you will need to spray a spoon with Pam to spread out the cake as it will be very, very thick when you pour it in the pan. It is much like a cookie dough, instead of a typical cake batter. After I poured mine in the pan, I dripped vanilla flavoring all over the top of it (maybe 3 tsp total) and everyone commented on the vanilla flavor to it. So, I guess that is something else you can add! :-) This cake came out perfect the very first time I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very good and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I was looking for an easy recipe cake recipe for apples...and this is it! I edited the recipe as suggested by other reviewers...1Tcinn, 2tsp nutmeg, & 1tsp ground ginger. I had almost 6c of chopped apples so I made 1 1/2 times the cake part. I used 1c oil but next time will use 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil to make it a little more healthy. The baking time was about 1:10. I dusted the top with powdered sugar thinking the icing would make it too sweet. I will definately make this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is one of the most delicious, moist cakes you will ever have. I followed suit of other reviewers and made the cake with healthier ingredients. I used non-sweetened applesauce instead of oil, 1% milk, and I only made half the frosting, using Neufchatel cream cheese. Even using the "lite" ingredients and less frosting, it was still creamy and decadent. It was so delectable everyone went back for a second piece, thus defeating the purpose of making it lite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Delicious! I wonder if you could mess this recipe up. I used some apples off my tree, tart and delicious. I didn't have any powdered sugar so I used normal sugar for the frosting and it was still great. I just sort of ballparked the sugar conversion. I also just chopped the apples big and then noticed it said to dice them small. Oh well. It turned out so yummy and my family loved it. Now I'm just waiting to do some time on the treadmill before I make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jelmelt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Yummy! Made this for tea, and ended up with two beautifully browned loaves. I skipped the frosting, too. The cake was plenty sweet enough, and the crunchy top was a real crowd pleaser! I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter, but other than that I followed the recipe as written - and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was a great cake. I changed two things, I didn't use the cream cheese frosting, my famliy and I are not big on frosting and I used unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. Using applesauce in most cake type recipes works well, it makes the cake moist and cuts the fat too and doesn't effect the taste, doesn't taste like you added applesauce. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juniebugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
a pretty good fresh apple cake. i upped all of the spices and added a few more, to make it more of a spice cake rich with apples. i also left off the cream cheese frosting; to me that would have been overkill. a simple dusting of confectioners sugar is all that it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheverly, Maryland, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States