Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
YUM!!! This is fantastic! Only changes: a little ground cloves and a teaspoon vanilla in the batter. Covered with the cream cheese frosting to which I added 1T cinnamon. This cake is fantastic! Even though I read in the reviews how thick the dough was, I was not expecting it to be so thick I had to pat it down in the pan with my hands. My husband who hates cake keeps asking me for bites of mine. . .wonder when he's going to break down and get a piece for himself. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This disappeared quickly at my gathering. People kept returning for another piece, even scraping up the crumbs when the pieces were gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent cake. I made it three times this month with different apples we picked on apple picking excursions. I added some cloves to the mix as well as the cinnamon and nutmeg. We did not frost it. It is excellent as it is. Yes the batter is very very thick. The top of cake is yummy because it is crunchy. I like it best with the granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
It turned out quite well! I had a cake I used to make in this recipe book I just couldn't find, and I was looking for something similar. I made a few changes- I grated the apples instead of chopping them, and omitted some sugar. I only had self-rising cake flour on hand, so I used that, and omitted the salt, and raising agents. It turned out great! Light and fluffy, and I was delighted I could use oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This cake was great when made according to the recipe. But, combining too many of the suggested substitutes makes disappointing results. When we tried applesauce instead of oil, whole wheat instead of white, cut some of the sugar and used blueberries & apples instead of just apples, we ended up with a tasty but over-moist cake with no pizzazz. Everyone in the family is begging me to make the original recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was pretty good but I still like my standard recipe which uses 6 cups of apples. The only thing different was I eliminated the cream cheese frosting and used whip topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Easy and delicious! I used lots more apples chopped any old way along with walnuts and raisins. Glazed it with powdered sugar frosting. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn Duckett
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great tasting cake and smells wonderful as it is baking! I made exactly as the directions stated, with the exception of using Red Delicious Apples. Next time I will leave the 1 Tablespoon of milk out of the icing so it will be fluffier and thicker, but it did taste wonderful. It does remind me of an "old fashioned" apple cake. I am going to make it next week for our annual Fall Festival.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Duckett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
A great tasting cake. I did drizzle about 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring and 1 extra tsp of cinnamon to top of cake when it was cooling. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is a great easy recipe. I didn't use the oil that the recipe called for, I used about 1/4C butter and half a cup of apple sauce as a substitute. I also didn't make the icing, though I am sure it would be delightful with the extra calories, I decided it was just great without it. I will be making this again soon, as my apple tree is hanging heavy with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States