Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is amazing! I usually don't like apple cake (my mother in law makes some nasty gooey thing), but I loved this. It's chewy on the top and moist in the middle. I didn't have any nutmeg, so I added a bit more cinnamon instead. It smelled fantastic while it baked, and tasted fantastic fresh from the oven. I skipped the frosting and didn't miss it. As everyone else has pointed out, the batter is VERY thick. Mixing it was a good workout for my arms! But, the apples will release so much juice while they bake that it all comes out perfect in the end. I sliced my apples in thin rings, then into chunks. They came out as little soft chunks, which makes for a great consistency. I'll certainly be making this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My mother use to make this cake for us every holiday. She no longer bakes so I thought I'd take over for her...IT WAS THE BEST!! Everyone commented on how GREAT it was!!! I'm not a fan of icing and it was super delicious without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
First time I divided the recipe into 2 - 9" rounds and gave the second one to my Mother-in-law since it is just my husband and myself. Two hours later I wanted to go and get my cake back. I made another the next day and took it to work. By my morning break the cake was gone. Gave out 10 copies of the recipe to impressed coworkers. Hah! another in the oven now all for myself. I followed the directions, with the only change increasing the cinnamon to 1 tsp. like suggested in the other reviews. Yes the batter was thick, but thanks to other comments I was not surprised. I used a sandwich baggie as a glove and pressed the dough into the prepared pan. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnn Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made this cake twice and both times it was yummy but no WOW factor. It's super sweet and a little too mushy for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Made as written .... best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this without the icing and my family loved this cake. It is a lot like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Was a little dry, will try letting the apples sit in the sugar for awhile next time. Taste was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious! Followed the directions right down the line, including the cooking time (45-50 min). We didn't bother to ice this cake as it's moist and sweet enough without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Just make it according to the recipe. Quit making changes. It is wonderful just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I made this cake tonight for my girlfriend's birthday and it was a big hit! I used Jonathans that we bought at a local orchard over the weekend and it turned out perfectly. Totally agree with other reviewers that it doesn't need the icing. We just ate it warm with a little Schwan's vanilla ice cream on the side. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States