Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
this looks just like the cake my mom made in the 70's. but she put a broiled frosting on it. 3/4 cup flaked coconut 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/3 cup chopped pecans or walnuts 1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted 3 tablespoons milk In small bowl, mix all topping ingredients until well blended. Spread topping over hot cake. Broil cake with top 6 inches from heat 1 to 2 minutes or until top is golden and bubbly. Cool 30 minutes. Serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great cake. I used apple sauce, since I usually do and didn't frost with the cream cheese. Everyone loved it and I am going to make it again today. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Hi there, Ohhh thankyou for having this on line! My grandmother, then mother, then I have been baking this cake for ever! I like to use Brown sugar and Graventine apples. Truth is, you can change around the sugars, and use just about any apple. I tried it with peaches one year..OMG yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This cake is excellent! It has great flavour & a dense texture. Took it to work & it got raves. It definitely doesn't need the frosting, but whipped cream or vanilla icecream would be a good choice if you're serving this cake warm. I've been baking for over 40 yrs & I've never ever had a cake batter that was this thick! I literally had to mix it & press it into the pan with my bare hands! Weird but sooo tasty! I made the following minor changes to it: - used 1 c of whole wheat flour & 1 1/2 of white - used 1 c of brown sugar & 1 c of white - added 2 Tbsp ground flax seed - increased apples to 4 c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe a number of times, and it always disappears very quickly. I use half of the amount of sugar, and find it to be plenty sweet. I also have used various varieties of apples, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Love it with all the apple flavor and texture! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Fabulous! The cake was delicious. So good that I am going to make it again, something I rarely do. The frosting is not needed, and I think it would take away from the wonderful cake itself. I expected the cake to last about one week, but my family gobbled it up in a few days! This cake is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is easy and awesome! Great without frosting and with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
had a distinct baking soda taste, which is not a good thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. My family loved it. It was so moist and delicious. The only changes I made were that I substituted half the oil for applesauce, added a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed, and added 1/2 cup each of walnuts and raisins. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States