Ravioli with Cherry Tomatoes and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I really liked this as a base recipe to tweak so I gave it 4 stars for versatility. This recipe is flexible to adapt to what you have on hand in the kitchen or what you want to throw in. Here's what I did: I used a jar of diced tomatoes, a handful of Mexican blend cheese, dried basil, and a handful of cooked and crumbled bulk sausage (Neeses). I didn't have parsley and omitted the salt and pepper at the front so I could season to taste. The first bite was good, but we both agreed that it needed just a little something to make it really, really good. We both added a touch of fresh ground pepper and a shake of dried and grated parmesan & romano cheese. This was all it needed and my husband declared this to go on heavy rotation as a quick dinner. This is quick, has a summertime fresh flavor and is highly adaptable. I think the diced tomatoes are better than the halved cherry tomatoes as it distributes the tomato flavor more evenly with each bite. I will probably plan to cook this next time and get fresh basil, tomatoes and mozarella cheese. I might look for fresh cheeze ravioli, but the frozen was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRUSHSH70

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
My family loved this recipe, even my 22 month old. We used meat ravioli and cheese ravioli and it worked well with both. This is a very versatile recipe. We are looking forward to using the cherry tomato and cheese mixture with many other dinners and salads. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. As written - 4 stars. I tasted it and it seemed to lack someting. I added some parmesan to the ravioli and some good balsamic vinegar / glaze the the tomatoes and this was plate licking good. Serve with a crusty bread to soak up the sauce. Beautiful, fast and perfect for those summer cherry tomatoes. Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I think this recipe is terrific! I used cherry tomatoes from my own garden the first time I made it, so the freshness really got everyone's attention. I usually "tweak" recipes with my own personal touch, but this one is great just the way it is. Thanks for providing me with another way to use my abundance of cherry tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Not a whole lot of flavor. We were trying to go lower cal but ravioli really just needs a sauce, not just an oil. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Very yummy and light. Nice I loved how fresh it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I had to make this as a last minute side dish and included a few substitutes. We took out the basil and instead used spinach which we heated up in a frying pan for a few seconds. And we accidentally used cilantro instead of parsley. However, the outcome was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Yum! This was delicious- these flavors are what I like best about summer. I did only use two large cloves of garlic, and that was good for us. I used cheese tortellini instead of ravioli. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This tasted a little bland to me, even though I love all the ingredients. It didn't really make good leftovers either (even less flavor reheated). Maybe it would be better with a different ravioli instead of plain cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
good. we'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States