Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2000
WOW! I got rave reviews for this cake! It's moist, nutty and sweet. To add a new twist, I swirled the batter for this cake with a chocolate fudge cake batter to make two 10 inch layers of ALMOND JOY HEAVEN! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dms036

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I tried this cake for Mother's Day and it was absolutely delicious! Very moist and flavorful. I added a bit of crushed pineapple (8 oz. can drained) between the layers. This recipe will definitely be one of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I made this cake for a party at work & everyone loved it! They all wanted to know who made it and if I could give them the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rere

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SMITHH2
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
My mom has made this cake for me since I was a little girl ... What a moist and delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMITHH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is moist and flavorful. And like its name, always gets rave reviews. I make this cake occasionally for special functions. Most recently I served it at a baby shower, using Pineapple Filling (on this site from Traci Poole) between the layers. Yummy. Thanks for bringing this great cake to the forefront, Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This cake was a hit! As soon as I put it on the table it was gone! I put a little less coconut than it called for to go in the cake mix. It was just right when I did that. Thanks Glenda this is an awesome recipe. *~*LIZ*~*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
MY FAVORITE CAKE RECIPE! It is more of an "Italian Cream Cake" than a Coconut Cake, in my opinion, but this is a GREAT THING! My family agrees that it is better than the Italian Cream Cake at our local bakery, and that says a lot!!! Moist, delicious, a KEEPER, for sure! I will make this many, many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is my grandmother's favorite cake. She says that it is most like the cakes her mother made for her childhood birthdays. This is a wonderful cake. Even those who do not like coconut eat this one. Our family looks forward to this one every March 30th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
AMAZING!! This cake was wonderful. Served it at Easter dinner and even my father (who has claimed to hate coconut his whole life) ate an entire piece. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Sorry to have to give this recipe its first bad review...there must be something REALLY wrong with one or more of the ingredient measurements or the amount of time to bake. Both the cake and the frosting were a disaster. I only deviated from the recipe in that I omitted the nuts. The cake was nowhere near fully baked after 35 minutes - I had to put it in again for about another 20 minutes at least...and then it was super crumbly. I think there was too much egg in the batter. The frosting was impossible to spread smoothly, which made the crumbly cake fall apart even more! In hindsight, this is not too surprising - there is not much of anything moist added to the cream cheese in order to give it a cake-frosting consistency. I am not a novice baker, so I probably should have followed my instincts a little more, but I guess I was fooled by all the glowing reviews this recipe recieved. No one said they changed anything. I have a hard time believing that following this recipe exactly could yield a good cake...anyway, there are a lot of other coconut cake recipes out there, so next time I'll try a different one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States