Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
The frosting tastes wonderful but you do need to allow it to soften up a bit to frost the cake and the cake was not as moist as I would have thought given the high rating. Next time I will try a white cake mix and more oil or butter in the cake mix and omit the 4th egg. Perhaps a bit more butter in the frosting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This is the best coconut cake recipe I have ever tried. Took a little longer in the oven, but came out great. Thought the icing would be too sweet, but it is so good! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
My son wanted a coconut cake for his 12th birthday party and I thought with all the good reviews this would be a good choice. Unfortunately, noone (not even the birthday boy) liked it. The cake was very crumbly and the frosting didn't spread well. Also, I didn't have enough frosting to cover the cake so it only got put on the top and between layers. I guess we'll go back to using a German Chocolate cake recipe (with the coconut/pecan frosting) instead when he wants a coconut cake. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This cake is wonderful! I substituted coconut cream pudding mix for the vanilla and coco loco coconut milk for one cup of the water. I actually forgot to add the vegetable oil. It was so delicious. I don't care for coconut much but the toasted coconut was wonderful! My niece said it was the best cake she'd ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Jungbluth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I made this for the adults at a baby's party. Everyone loved it. It was a bit denser than I expected, and reminded me a little of a banana-nut muffin. Go figure. I added 1/2 cup of butter to the icing, as well as a second package of powdered sugar. I left the shredded coconut and chopped nuts out of the icing. Instead I mixed them together and pressed on the sides of the iced cake. Beautiful presentation...until the baby got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Sorry to have to give this recipe its first bad review...there must be something REALLY wrong with one or more of the ingredient measurements or the amount of time to bake. Both the cake and the frosting were a disaster. I only deviated from the recipe in that I omitted the nuts. The cake was nowhere near fully baked after 35 minutes - I had to put it in again for about another 20 minutes at least...and then it was super crumbly. I think there was too much egg in the batter. The frosting was impossible to spread smoothly, which made the crumbly cake fall apart even more! In hindsight, this is not too surprising - there is not much of anything moist added to the cream cheese in order to give it a cake-frosting consistency. I am not a novice baker, so I probably should have followed my instincts a little more, but I guess I was fooled by all the glowing reviews this recipe recieved. No one said they changed anything. I have a hard time believing that following this recipe exactly could yield a good cake...anyway, there are a lot of other coconut cake recipes out there, so next time I'll try a different one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
AMAZING!! This cake was wonderful. Served it at Easter dinner and even my father (who has claimed to hate coconut his whole life) ate an entire piece. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is my grandmother's favorite cake. She says that it is most like the cakes her mother made for her childhood birthdays. This is a wonderful cake. Even those who do not like coconut eat this one. Our family looks forward to this one every March 30th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
MY FAVORITE CAKE RECIPE! It is more of an "Italian Cream Cake" than a Coconut Cake, in my opinion, but this is a GREAT THING! My family agrees that it is better than the Italian Cream Cake at our local bakery, and that says a lot!!! Moist, delicious, a KEEPER, for sure! I will make this many, many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States