Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This cake turned out great and it was so easy to make! I didn't change anything except I made it with chocolate cake mix instead of yellow and I also doubled the frosting ingredients. It was such a pretty cake - and it got many rave reviews! I will make this cake again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I scaled this recipe down (from the original 12 to 9), which was the perfect amount to make 12 standard size cupcakes. I baked them at 350 for 20 to 25 minutes and they turned out great - just make sure to bake until the tops are dry, although the cake will seem firm when the top is still sticky. I'm a pastry chef and I work for a cupcake exclusive bakery in Austin, TX so I suppose this is kind of my specialty. As for the cake mix, if you don't have a box of cake mix then you can always make your own using "Cake Mixes from Scratch" recipe on this site. Half of that recipe will be just enough. As for the icing, it is absolutely divine, but it needs to be refrigerated for 10-15 minutes before you use it. Toasting the coconut was a lot less complicated that it's made out to be. I put it on medium heat and just kept the coconut moving the entire time, and then I poured it out of the pan onto a paper plate with some napkins. Make sure your cakes are completely cooled before you try to ice them, as cream cheese icing is notorious for melting easily. If you get impatient, then just throw them in the fridge for a while like I did - you definitely do NOT have to worry about these drying out. I think the pudding is really the key to all the great moisture, but it makes the texture a bit heavier than a regular cake. Either way, it's a wonderful recipe and a great deviation from the standard variety of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the first review I have written but I must say this is a very good cake and quick to prepare. I have made it numerous time and always get great compliments on the taste, moistness and of course the coconut. This is a recipe that I will use often. I make two layers instead of three. It slices much better. I sprinkle the toasted coconut as well as the remaining walnuts on top for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday, and we loved it! The only thing I changed was that I used a canned key lime pie filling between the layers. Very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
the reviews this cake has gotten are true. I tried this recipe and entered it in a company bake-off and won. everyone loved how the cake tasted and the moistness of the cake. Awesome Cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
World's most AMAZING cake if you're a coconut fan. I always get a tons of compliments on this whenever I make it. The added coconut to the icing is great and I usually surround the top of the cake and the bottom of the dish with a ring of toasted coconut to add something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This is a moist, great tasting coconut cake. It was a big hit at our Easter gathering! I used finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Amazing cake, but as others have said, not near enough icing. I doubled it the second time I made it and it was gobbled up! Even my husband who fussed that he "didn't really like coconut", ate more than anyone else. Just be sure to double the icing because the recipe will NOT give you enough for 3 layers...even if you are stingy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinlan, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this cake for my two grandkids for Easter. They loved it. I decorated some of the coconut green for the top layer and added chocolate candy eggs, jelly beans, etc. I also filled between the layers with the Pineapple Filling found on this site. With doing this there was plenty of frosting. The cake was really good, but OMG the frosting was wonderful. Please - like others have stated - divide the 4 tablespoons of butter. Two tablespoons for cake and the other two for toasting the coconut. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I made this for my daughters co-workers @ Albertsons and they LOVED it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGRL100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States