Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe! I actually didn't bother to drain the coconut after toasting, but it was fine. The buttery flavor added a different dimension to the coconut. I did double the frosting...just didn't seem like the suggested amounts would be enough, and I was right. I had frosting left over though, so next time I will just do 1.5x. I brought this to an event and was told by several people that this was the BEST coconut cake they'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This cake was simple and pretty. Although, you might want to change your recipe; when i cut into the cake it fell apart completely. It was so crumbly that when you went to serve it on a plate, it fell apart and looked like mush. The icing didn't make enough, and you didnt even taste it inside the cake. I should've made more, but had little time. I love coconut and loved the topping. It was a good cake, needed to be held together though. Good icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarchCook95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Photo by Dorothy F
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Well the name of this cake sure fits!! I made this for the Jewish holidays and I got RAVE REVIEWS! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Got rave reviews like the title says. I made it as a bundt cake and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The cake was pretty good, but i wouldnt rush to make this one again. I'll keep it on my list but my quest for the perfect coconut cake continues.... I just wanted the cake to be immersed in coconut flavor and this wasn't, it was more nutty or remniscent of a carrot-cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This cake turned out great and it was so easy to make! I didn't change anything except I made it with chocolate cake mix instead of yellow and I also doubled the frosting ingredients. It was such a pretty cake - and it got many rave reviews! I will make this cake again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I scaled this recipe down (from the original 12 to 9), which was the perfect amount to make 12 standard size cupcakes. I baked them at 350 for 20 to 25 minutes and they turned out great - just make sure to bake until the tops are dry, although the cake will seem firm when the top is still sticky. I'm a pastry chef and I work for a cupcake exclusive bakery in Austin, TX so I suppose this is kind of my specialty. As for the cake mix, if you don't have a box of cake mix then you can always make your own using "Cake Mixes from Scratch" recipe on this site. Half of that recipe will be just enough. As for the icing, it is absolutely divine, but it needs to be refrigerated for 10-15 minutes before you use it. Toasting the coconut was a lot less complicated that it's made out to be. I put it on medium heat and just kept the coconut moving the entire time, and then I poured it out of the pan onto a paper plate with some napkins. Make sure your cakes are completely cooled before you try to ice them, as cream cheese icing is notorious for melting easily. If you get impatient, then just throw them in the fridge for a while like I did - you definitely do NOT have to worry about these drying out. I think the pudding is really the key to all the great moisture, but it makes the texture a bit heavier than a regular cake. Either way, it's a wonderful recipe and a great deviation from the standard variety of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the first review I have written but I must say this is a very good cake and quick to prepare. I have made it numerous time and always get great compliments on the taste, moistness and of course the coconut. This is a recipe that I will use often. I make two layers instead of three. It slices much better. I sprinkle the toasted coconut as well as the remaining walnuts on top for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday, and we loved it! The only thing I changed was that I used a canned key lime pie filling between the layers. Very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
the reviews this cake has gotten are true. I tried this recipe and entered it in a company bake-off and won. everyone loved how the cake tasted and the moistness of the cake. Awesome Cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States