Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Recieved rave reviews on my Rave Reviews Coconut Cake. It is a little crumbly and you do need at least 1 1/2 times the icing. The toasted coconut makes this cake beyond good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe is good but a bit dry. Next time I will try to do something to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I made this cake in a 9x12 pan and poked holes in it like in Coconut Poke cake from this site. Then iced it with the icing adding coconut extract. Soooo yummy it is my families favorate cake. I also used some suggestions from other members and did not add all the coconut suggested to the cake and it was so moist and yummy it was unbelievable. I do not understand how anyone could not love this cake unless they hate coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Miss J
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
LOVE IT! Super easy, since you start it with the yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding. I used a different cream cheese/vanilla frosting of my own. I also did not make three layers. I used a 3-inch high round cake pan. I thought it would be too much frosting with so many layers. The cake itself is rich enough and filled with coconut and walnuts that it didn't need tons of frosting throughout it. Everyone who's had a bite of this cake so far loves it and wants a copy of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Turned out beautifully. I toasted the coconut in the oven as others suggested. Also, do not have three pans. Made it in two layers and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Nice texture, tasty. Very moist. I used whipped cream icing instead of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and it turned out great! It was so moist and the frosting was amazing! I made the 3 layers and the cook time was just right. I didn't put any nuts in the cake or coconut. I loved the pudding mix in the cake, I think it made it very moist. I will make this cake over and over and over again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
rating is for the frosting - i haven't made the cake. i use this frosting on the Coconut Cake IV from this site, and it is an incredible combination! makes enough frosting for 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This cake turned out ok. I think the instant pudding mix gave it a weird artificial flavor. The icing was also very hard to mix up. I had to soften the cream cheese a few times in the microwave. I will keep looking for a Coconut Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderful! A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States