Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I used a white cake mix and coconut pudding to help add to the coconut flavor. I also added some coconut milk to the water called for in the recipe. Everyone loved the cake. I used another frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS! I've tried lots of recipes, and this is by far the best! It was gone the first day I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
made this recipe for my dad who has a very harsh opinion on everything and he LOVED this cake!!!! said it reminded him of the way his grandmother use to make her coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The first time I made this cake, I followed the recipe exactly with the exception on correcting the error on step 4 and only used 2 tbls butter to cook the coconut. The cake was good, but you have to double the up on the frosting to cover three layers and the frosting was extremely rich. The second time I made a few changes and it turned out great! First off I went with a 13x9 sheet cake instead of layers. I toasted 2 cups of coconut on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes before adding it to the batter. I left out the walnuts, and went with 1/3 cup of oil instead of 1/4 cup. I used a regular white cake mix (not the butter recipe kind) instead of yellow and used 3 jumbo eggs. For the frosting, I went with two 8oz packages of cream cheese, but cut the sugar back to only 3 cups. That made a perfect amount to cover the cake and was still plenty sweet. You might want to microwave the cream cheese for about 30 seconds to get it nice and soft and easy to blend. Add the sugar a little bit at a time. It took 40 minutes at 350 degrees in a dark coated cake pan. Everybody loved the cake. It disappeared in nothing flat! It was super moist and not too crumbly at all. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
After reading several "bad" reviews of this cake, I felt the need to join and post. I have made this cake at least 50 times and have never had any problem with the cake being too crumbly or not done. One review mentions leaving out the nuts, this would make the cake crumbly as walnuts add their oils to the cake. The only part I alter is that I do not feel butter is necessary to toast the coconut. A non-stick pan and constant stirring do the trick fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this cake for Easter. I made it as a 2-layer cake with 2 8x8 square pans. I accidentally sprayed the pans with cooking oil and did not coat with flour and they came out fine. I did not have creamcheese so I made plain buttercream frosting instead and skipped the toasted coconut. It was amazing. The cake was moist and delicious! Everyone wanted seconds and did not touch the other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This will be about my 25th time making this cake. Every time I get together with someone they ask me to make this cake! It is fabulous, I just always double the frosting recipe because a single batch won't cover my whole cake. This recipe will stick with us forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Laack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I love this recipe, everytime i do a coconut cake i use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this cake. I cut the recipe out of a magazine years ago and have not been able to locate it. Now it is here! It is a wonderful recipe for those coconut lovers out there. I have substituted the Betty Crocker Super Moist yellow cake mix, then omitting the pudding and it works great as it already has the pudding in the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States