Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
My son wanted a coconut cake for his 12th birthday party and I thought with all the good reviews this would be a good choice. Unfortunately, noone (not even the birthday boy) liked it. The cake was very crumbly and the frosting didn't spread well. Also, I didn't have enough frosting to cover the cake so it only got put on the top and between layers. I guess we'll go back to using a German Chocolate cake recipe (with the coconut/pecan frosting) instead when he wants a coconut cake. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This cake is wonderful! I substituted coconut cream pudding mix for the vanilla and coco loco coconut milk for one cup of the water. I actually forgot to add the vegetable oil. It was so delicious. I don't care for coconut much but the toasted coconut was wonderful! My niece said it was the best cake she'd ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I made this for the adults at a baby's party. Everyone loved it. It was a bit denser than I expected, and reminded me a little of a banana-nut muffin. Go figure. I added 1/2 cup of butter to the icing, as well as a second package of powdered sugar. I left the shredded coconut and chopped nuts out of the icing. Instead I mixed them together and pressed on the sides of the iced cake. Beautiful presentation...until the baby got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Sorry to have to give this recipe its first bad review...there must be something REALLY wrong with one or more of the ingredient measurements or the amount of time to bake. Both the cake and the frosting were a disaster. I only deviated from the recipe in that I omitted the nuts. The cake was nowhere near fully baked after 35 minutes - I had to put it in again for about another 20 minutes at least...and then it was super crumbly. I think there was too much egg in the batter. The frosting was impossible to spread smoothly, which made the crumbly cake fall apart even more! In hindsight, this is not too surprising - there is not much of anything moist added to the cream cheese in order to give it a cake-frosting consistency. I am not a novice baker, so I probably should have followed my instincts a little more, but I guess I was fooled by all the glowing reviews this recipe recieved. No one said they changed anything. I have a hard time believing that following this recipe exactly could yield a good cake...anyway, there are a lot of other coconut cake recipes out there, so next time I'll try a different one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
AMAZING!! This cake was wonderful. Served it at Easter dinner and even my father (who has claimed to hate coconut his whole life) ate an entire piece. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is my grandmother's favorite cake. She says that it is most like the cakes her mother made for her childhood birthdays. This is a wonderful cake. Even those who do not like coconut eat this one. Our family looks forward to this one every March 30th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
MY FAVORITE CAKE RECIPE! It is more of an "Italian Cream Cake" than a Coconut Cake, in my opinion, but this is a GREAT THING! My family agrees that it is better than the Italian Cream Cake at our local bakery, and that says a lot!!! Moist, delicious, a KEEPER, for sure! I will make this many, many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This cake was a hit! As soon as I put it on the table it was gone! I put a little less coconut than it called for to go in the cake mix. It was just right when I did that. Thanks Glenda this is an awesome recipe. *~*LIZ*~*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is moist and flavorful. And like its name, always gets rave reviews. I make this cake occasionally for special functions. Most recently I served it at a baby shower, using Pineapple Filling (on this site from Traci Poole) between the layers. Yummy. Thanks for bringing this great cake to the forefront, Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States