Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Amazing cake, but as others have said, not near enough icing. I doubled it the second time I made it and it was gobbled up! Even my husband who fussed that he "didn't really like coconut", ate more than anyone else. Just be sure to double the icing because the recipe will NOT give you enough for 3 layers...even if you are stingy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinlan, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this cake for my two grandkids for Easter. They loved it. I decorated some of the coconut green for the top layer and added chocolate candy eggs, jelly beans, etc. I also filled between the layers with the Pineapple Filling found on this site. With doing this there was plenty of frosting. The cake was really good, but OMG the frosting was wonderful. Please - like others have stated - divide the 4 tablespoons of butter. Two tablespoons for cake and the other two for toasting the coconut. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I made this for my daughters co-workers @ Albertsons and they LOVED it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGRL100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Good but there's an error in the recipe. The first step that uses butter should say to melt only half the butter to fry the coconut - it doesn't say that but later says use the remaining butter. Don't mess up this step otherwise you'll have really greasy coconut. I had to drain mine twice on papertowels. Otherwise, it was good. The frosting didn't make as much as I would have liked so I'd double the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This cake is very good!! But... I did make a couple of changes. I used 3 Jumbo eggs, 1/3 cup oil, and omitted the walnuts. I toasted the coconut in a 350 degree oven for about 10 mins before adding to the cake mixture. Also, a couple of points the recipe does not point out.... The 4 Tbsp. of butter is divided 2 Tbsp for the toasting of the frosting coconut & 2 Tbsp for mixing in the frosting itself. I used 2 round non-stick dark cake pans and one regular round cake pan. The non-stick dark layers were a bit overdone at 30 MINUTES and the regular pan was perfect. So, be sure to watch your cakes closely as 35 mins seemed too long when you are dividing the cake mix into 3 round cake pans. As for the frosting, it's very yummy, but I had to add 1/2 a can of vanilla frosting to make enough for the whole cake. Next time I will 1 1/2 the recipe! You will not be disappointed, just be sure to watch your baking time!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My boyfriend loves coconut and hasn't stopped talking about how great this cake is. It has tons of coconut and is incredibly moist. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
the cake itself it's o.k. , but the frosting is OUTRAGEOUS!!!! put it on a slice of bread and it would make a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I needed to make a coconut cake for a hawaiian-themed dinner with some friends, and this turned out wonderful. Everyone absolutely loved it! I basically followed the recipe, except for a few minor changes. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I added some a bit of crushed pineapple to the batter. I used a 9 x 13 in. glass pan. Also, I made sure to mix the everything for at least 4 mins so the pudding mix would thicken. I did have to bake it for more than 30 mins - maybe 35-40. The frosting was delicious and the toasted coconut was the perfect final touch. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Excellent cake, and easy to make. I used a pudding cake mix, but still added the extra pudding. Probably could have done without the extra pudding, but still tasted great. Mine only took 30 minutes to bake in dark pans. My cake was not crumbly at all like some other reviewers said, nor was the icing hard to spread. I had plenty of icing; in fact, I wish I had used more between layers. I was trying to be conservative because some people said they did not have enough frosting. Honestly, I would not change a thing. I even used a sugar free pudding mix, and low fat cream cheese, with no problems, and it did not seem to be missing anything. I took this to a dinner party, and it really did get rave reviews--people even thought it was from scratch. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This cake was perfect and easy to make. I had extra-large eggs so I only used three. I usually prefer pecans to walnuts but the walnuts really compliment the coconut better. I thought the frosting might be a little sweet, and read reviews about it being hard to spread, so I cut the powdered sugar down to 3 cups and folded in a container of Cool Whip. This made the frosting much less rich and very easy to spread. I also added some canned pineapple between the layers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States