Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderful! A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I omitted the nuts and did not toast the coconut. I also reduced the amount of sugar in the frosting by 1 cup and found it still plenty sweet. No issues with quantity of frosting because I baked in a 9 1/2 x 13 sheet pan instead of layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOTNEBB
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Gobbled up every time! Biggest Tip: double the frosting. You might have some left over, but even better to just have your family lick the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTNEBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This cake is a staple in my family... SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
OMG! This cake was delicious. I made it just as recipe instructed. My daughter told me she does not eat coconut cake, but when I looked into the kitchen I saw here cutting a piece. The cake was so moist. If anyone says that this cake was a disaster must don't know how to cook, or they are just being cruel. Now, I did have to leave the cake in for longer than 35 min, but that is only because I only did a two layer cake. So thank you so much for this recipe and I plan on making it again this weekend for Easter. My entire family loves this cake. I just can't wait until Sunday so that my mom and sister can try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I baked this for my daughter's birthday because she requested a "coconut cake". It was so easy and so yummy. The frosting is a perfect compliment. Once the cake was sliced, though, it seem to crumble easy . . . maybe the coconut in the cake mix makes it that way?!?!?! We will definitely make again. It does end up being a lot of cake so we gave away a few slices because we are only a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe! I actually didn't bother to drain the coconut after toasting, but it was fine. The buttery flavor added a different dimension to the coconut. I did double the frosting...just didn't seem like the suggested amounts would be enough, and I was right. I had frosting left over though, so next time I will just do 1.5x. I brought this to an event and was told by several people that this was the BEST coconut cake they'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This cake was simple and pretty. Although, you might want to change your recipe; when i cut into the cake it fell apart completely. It was so crumbly that when you went to serve it on a plate, it fell apart and looked like mush. The icing didn't make enough, and you didnt even taste it inside the cake. I should've made more, but had little time. I love coconut and loved the topping. It was a good cake, needed to be held together though. Good icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarchCook95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Photo by Dorothy F
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Well the name of this cake sure fits!! I made this for the Jewish holidays and I got RAVE REVIEWS! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Got rave reviews like the title says. I made it as a bundt cake and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States