Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Nice texture, tasty. Very moist. I used whipped cream icing instead of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and it turned out great! It was so moist and the frosting was amazing! I made the 3 layers and the cook time was just right. I didn't put any nuts in the cake or coconut. I loved the pudding mix in the cake, I think it made it very moist. I will make this cake over and over and over again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
rating is for the frosting - i haven't made the cake. i use this frosting on the Coconut Cake IV from this site, and it is an incredible combination! makes enough frosting for 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This cake turned out ok. I think the instant pudding mix gave it a weird artificial flavor. The icing was also very hard to mix up. I had to soften the cream cheese a few times in the microwave. I will keep looking for a Coconut Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderful! A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was delicious! I omitted the nuts and did not toast the coconut. I also reduced the amount of sugar in the frosting by 1 cup and found it still plenty sweet. No issues with quantity of frosting because I baked in a 9 1/2 x 13 sheet pan instead of layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NOTNEBB
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Gobbled up every time! Biggest Tip: double the frosting. You might have some left over, but even better to just have your family lick the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTNEBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This cake is a staple in my family... SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
OMG! This cake was delicious. I made it just as recipe instructed. My daughter told me she does not eat coconut cake, but when I looked into the kitchen I saw here cutting a piece. The cake was so moist. If anyone says that this cake was a disaster must don't know how to cook, or they are just being cruel. Now, I did have to leave the cake in for longer than 35 min, but that is only because I only did a two layer cake. So thank you so much for this recipe and I plan on making it again this weekend for Easter. My entire family loves this cake. I just can't wait until Sunday so that my mom and sister can try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I baked this for my daughter's birthday because she requested a "coconut cake". It was so easy and so yummy. The frosting is a perfect compliment. Once the cake was sliced, though, it seem to crumble easy . . . maybe the coconut in the cake mix makes it that way?!?!?! We will definitely make again. It does end up being a lot of cake so we gave away a few slices because we are only a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States