Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This recipe looked so good I wanted to try it for my husband's birthday cake. After reading the reviews, I was concerned about it falling apart and the frosting being too sweet. So, I used coconut milk in place of the water and just 1 cup of coconut in the cake batter. It came out perfectly and was delicious! For the frosting, I doubled and creamed the room temperature ingredients, except for the confectioners' sugar which I added a little at a time until just right. It spread perfectly and was just the right amount. I also didn't bother with toasting the coconut. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made this as cupcakes for an Easter dinner at my boyfriends house. The cupcakes were great and the icing was fantastic. They got many compliments. I left the vanilla extract out because i wanted the icing to be very white. mmmmm yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I make this cake every year for Easter and it is my family's favorite. I buy cream cheese frosting to save on time and it tastes just as good without the homemade version in the recipe. Be careful not to burn the coconut when you are toasting it in the butter. It can burn quickly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this into cupcakes for St. Patrick's Day at our school. Instead of toasting all of the coconut, I tinted some of it green to put on top of the cupcakes. The cupcakes were very moist and had just the right amount of coconut flavor. I was tempted to add some coconut extract but am glad that I didn't. The cream cheese frosting is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
i thought that this would be a good recipe because of all the great reviews and the cake part was...but the frostings texture was horrible. First of all it was way to much sugar and there werent enough ingrediants to make it creamy it was grany instead. not in a hurry to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Recieved rave reviews on my Rave Reviews Coconut Cake. It is a little crumbly and you do need at least 1 1/2 times the icing. The toasted coconut makes this cake beyond good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe is good but a bit dry. Next time I will try to do something to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I made this cake in a 9x12 pan and poked holes in it like in Coconut Poke cake from this site. Then iced it with the icing adding coconut extract. Soooo yummy it is my families favorate cake. I also used some suggestions from other members and did not add all the coconut suggested to the cake and it was so moist and yummy it was unbelievable. I do not understand how anyone could not love this cake unless they hate coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Miss J
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
LOVE IT! Super easy, since you start it with the yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding. I used a different cream cheese/vanilla frosting of my own. I also did not make three layers. I used a 3-inch high round cake pan. I thought it would be too much frosting with so many layers. The cake itself is rich enough and filled with coconut and walnuts that it didn't need tons of frosting throughout it. Everyone who's had a bite of this cake so far loves it and wants a copy of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Turned out beautifully. I toasted the coconut in the oven as others suggested. Also, do not have three pans. Made it in two layers and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States