Rave Reviews Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
After reading several "bad" reviews of this cake, I felt the need to join and post. I have made this cake at least 50 times and have never had any problem with the cake being too crumbly or not done. One review mentions leaving out the nuts, this would make the cake crumbly as walnuts add their oils to the cake. The only part I alter is that I do not feel butter is necessary to toast the coconut. A non-stick pan and constant stirring do the trick fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this cake for Easter. I made it as a 2-layer cake with 2 8x8 square pans. I accidentally sprayed the pans with cooking oil and did not coat with flour and they came out fine. I did not have creamcheese so I made plain buttercream frosting instead and skipped the toasted coconut. It was amazing. The cake was moist and delicious! Everyone wanted seconds and did not touch the other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This will be about my 25th time making this cake. Every time I get together with someone they ask me to make this cake! It is fabulous, I just always double the frosting recipe because a single batch won't cover my whole cake. This recipe will stick with us forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I love this recipe, everytime i do a coconut cake i use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this cake. I cut the recipe out of a magazine years ago and have not been able to locate it. Now it is here! It is a wonderful recipe for those coconut lovers out there. I have substituted the Betty Crocker Super Moist yellow cake mix, then omitting the pudding and it works great as it already has the pudding in the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This recipe looked so good I wanted to try it for my husband's birthday cake. After reading the reviews, I was concerned about it falling apart and the frosting being too sweet. So, I used coconut milk in place of the water and just 1 cup of coconut in the cake batter. It came out perfectly and was delicious! For the frosting, I doubled and creamed the room temperature ingredients, except for the confectioners' sugar which I added a little at a time until just right. It spread perfectly and was just the right amount. I also didn't bother with toasting the coconut. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made this as cupcakes for an Easter dinner at my boyfriends house. The cupcakes were great and the icing was fantastic. They got many compliments. I left the vanilla extract out because i wanted the icing to be very white. mmmmm yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I make this cake every year for Easter and it is my family's favorite. I buy cream cheese frosting to save on time and it tastes just as good without the homemade version in the recipe. Be careful not to burn the coconut when you are toasting it in the butter. It can burn quickly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this into cupcakes for St. Patrick's Day at our school. Instead of toasting all of the coconut, I tinted some of it green to put on top of the cupcakes. The cupcakes were very moist and had just the right amount of coconut flavor. I was tempted to add some coconut extract but am glad that I didn't. The cream cheese frosting is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
i thought that this would be a good recipe because of all the great reviews and the cake part was...but the frostings texture was horrible. First of all it was way to much sugar and there werent enough ingrediants to make it creamy it was grany instead. not in a hurry to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States