Rated G Mexican Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I needed a little comfort today and this was it! Loved the flavors. The chocolate syrup is a nice touch. Thanks so much for sharing. I will continue to use this recipe for years to come. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Made this morning for cinco de mayo. Wow too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Ohkay, so I don't have cheesecloth but I do have a 4 cup coffeemaker so I cut the recipe down to work that way (brewed like Starbucks, two tablespoons per cup--I used Caffe Verona blend) and I added the cinnamon stick and clove to my grounds in the.....cone filter. After it brewed, I stirred in the (Splenda) brown sugar, vanilla and my own homemade chocolate syrup. Honestly? This was heaven. I didn't have whipped cream for the top but next time I make this, I'll be sure to have it on hand. This was wonderful and quite a treat. I did add just a touch of warmed half-n-half because I can't drink my coffee black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
OhmyGod!!! what a wonderful recipe. The 2nd time I customized it to our taste buds for a more robust taste: increased sugar to 1/2 cup, increased cloves to 2, increased coffee beans to 3/4 cup... to die for. The 3rd time I ran out of whipped cream to I whipped 8 oz of heavy cream and mixed it with 4 teaspoons of sifted confectioner's sugar. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arthur53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I've had this saved in my recipe box for about couple years and today we finally tried and oh my gosh! this coffee is awesome!!! we followed the recipe exactly and loved it. We'll make many times..Thanks IHW for sharing your recipe. Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is so tasty! I made it as a pick me up for two friends that were having a rough day. They really enjoyed it! I omitted the clove as I was out and this was a last minute thing. I used homemade chocolate syrup. I also used some cinnamon flavored coffee and a vanilla coffee k-cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, I normally strain my coffee with a cheesecloth colador anyways. It was very good, the only problem is that right now I only have two coffee drinkers in the house so I now have to make it when I have people over, otherwise, I just drink way to much coffee in one day, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
WOW! This is an awesome drink to warm you up. I was tempted to make myself a grownup coffee drinktoday but still had tons of snow shoveling to do so this looked like the right thing, and it was. Since it was just me, I used cofee I had percolated and heated it on the stove with seasonings and I used carob instead of chocolate for dietary needs. I will definitely make this again and may not wait for the next snowy day to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I'm rating this 5-stars because I've actually never had Mexican coffee so I am not 100% sure what it's supposed to taste like, but I would imagine this is a great version of it! It is delicious, although I must say I think it must be an acquired taste. It's a very strong flavor. I scaled the recipe to 2 and because I did not have whole cloves or cinnamon sticks I used a little less than 1/4t ground cinnamon and a few shakes ground cloves. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I was looking for something different for an all-night study session from the ingredients in my kitchen. I made this recipe without chocolate and with steamed milk in a french press. It worked wonderfully! The flavor is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States