Rated G Mexican Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
OhmyGod!!! what a wonderful recipe. The 2nd time I customized it to our taste buds for a more robust taste: increased sugar to 1/2 cup, increased cloves to 2, increased coffee beans to 3/4 cup... to die for. The 3rd time I ran out of whipped cream to I whipped 8 oz of heavy cream and mixed it with 4 teaspoons of sifted confectioner's sugar. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arthur53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
WOW! This is an awesome drink to warm you up. I was tempted to make myself a grownup coffee drinktoday but still had tons of snow shoveling to do so this looked like the right thing, and it was. Since it was just me, I used cofee I had percolated and heated it on the stove with seasonings and I used carob instead of chocolate for dietary needs. I will definitely make this again and may not wait for the next snowy day to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I'm rating this 5-stars because I've actually never had Mexican coffee so I am not 100% sure what it's supposed to taste like, but I would imagine this is a great version of it! It is delicious, although I must say I think it must be an acquired taste. It's a very strong flavor. I scaled the recipe to 2 and because I did not have whole cloves or cinnamon sticks I used a little less than 1/4t ground cinnamon and a few shakes ground cloves. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I'm not sure what coffee blend would work the best with this recipe. I used the Duncan Donuts and it seemed a bit too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara&Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Really delicious! I added extra cinnamon sticks and cloves for a stronger spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber (and Morgan) Weimer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Ohkay, so I don't have cheesecloth but I do have a 4 cup coffeemaker so I cut the recipe down to work that way (brewed like Starbucks, two tablespoons per cup--I used Caffe Verona blend) and I added the cinnamon stick and clove to my grounds in the.....cone filter. After it brewed, I stirred in the (Splenda) brown sugar, vanilla and my own homemade chocolate syrup. Honestly? This was heaven. I didn't have whipped cream for the top but next time I make this, I'll be sure to have it on hand. This was wonderful and quite a treat. I did add just a touch of warmed half-n-half because I can't drink my coffee black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I thought this was good. I am going to add it to my recipe box with the winter recipes because adding the clove reminded me of lightly spiced Christmas coffees. Or, I might try it again leaving out the clove. The only thing I changed was using an equal amount of instant coffee and I used lite chocolate syrup. I just poured it through a strainer then instead of using the cheese cloth method. The spiced coffee gave a nice warmth this chilly morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I made this for my husband and myself. I followed the recipe for the most part. I used about 1/2 cup of vanilla syrup instead of extract and I poured it straight through my cone filtered coffee maker when it was ready. Topped with cool whip this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I was looking for something different for an all-night study session from the ingredients in my kitchen. I made this recipe without chocolate and with steamed milk in a french press. It worked wonderfully! The flavor is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Really good on a cold Michigan morning. I just made this in my coffeemaker by putting all the spices and coffee together and brewing the coffee. The chocolate syrup was a nice touch. Making this in the coffeemaker made the process easier and the end result was super-tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States