Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this for dinner last night. I have so many fresh vegetables from my garden I had to use them up. This is the perfect recipe for that. I made this as directed with only one change, and that is I added more spices. Added some oregano and basil along with the parsley. This was delicious! My family of 4 devoured it like it was their job! I had no leftovers. I'm not kidding. This makes alot and we ate it all. There was about a cup left over and my husband was afraid I would throw it out, so he stuffed himself and ate it. I served this with beer can chicken off the grill and enjoyed every bite of this flavorful dish (with added spices). My family is already asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I don't know what I messed up here, but I must have messed it up badly because everyone else seems to like this. I was expecting tender, flavorful vegetables. They were still pretty hard and not that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very flavorful! Easy dish to prepare exactly as recipe states. I used a larger casserole dish and was generous with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Overall the recipe was very good. I have two changes that should be made. The recipe calls for a 1-1/2 quart casserole dish, I couldn't fit all the ingredients in my 1.5 Liter (slightly larger) dish. Also, it would be better if the eggplant were "salted" and compressed (closes pores) before baking. Eggplant absorbs a lot of liquid due to its porous nature and leaks it as it cooks. My ratatouille dish was very "soupy". Also, the eggplant should be browned, literally. The texture of the eggplant is typically "soft", raw or cooked. I served this dish with grilled chicken breasts. But even with all this criticism, we enjoyed the dish and I would make it again, albeit with the changes I described. Thanks for your offering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
What went wrong, an hour and a half later and it's still in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. I made it in a bigger dish than called for - a round LeCreuset bistro pan and the presentation was gorgeous. Even the very small children at the table enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This dish was a winner! I was skeptical that my husband would like it and he ate it all up. I'm always trying to find veggie dishes for my vegetarian step-daughter and her boyfriend and will be serving this up again, for sure! I followed a couple of suggestions - I sautéed the onions with the eggplant and garlic. I added paprika, thyme and a splash of red wine. Layered the rest as the recipe directed and baked for an hour. Since it was only my husband and I, I divided up and froze a second casserole. I'm looking forward to seeing how the second one turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Made this for dinner the other night it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Great flavor, very healthy but HOW ON EARTH did anyone fit ALL of these ingredients into what the recipe calls for....a 1 11/2 casserole dish?! I couldn't use all my veggies because there was way too much. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
First of all, WAY too much salt! You don't have to add a bunch of salt to each layer, as shown in the video. Most Parmesan cheeses are salty enough. Fresh parsley is a bonus if you have it. Saute the onions after the garlic, parsley and eggplant so they are not overbearing in the final dish. The eggplant can be cut into rounds, laid on a paper towel, slightly salted and covered with another paper towel to remove bitter taste and to reduce moisture. This avoids the ratatouille soup ending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States