Ratatouille Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very clever and delicious idea! I opened a can of pureed tomatoes instead of diced, so mine was more saucy than it should have been, but it worked. I used a smaller but deep casserole so I put a little sauce in the bottom, layer of ravioli, veggies and sauce, more ravioli and topped with the rest of the veggies and sauce, and cheese. While I love traditional ratatouille, I usually need to have something else with it as it's not too filling for me - the ravioli makes this a complete, and delicious, meal! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Like everyone, I made changes to suit my own style and ingredients, but the basic recipe here is a wonderful canvas to build on. It was wonderful. My changes---I used a pint jar of tomato sauce (home canned) in place of the diced tomatoes, sausage cheese torteloni in place of ravioli because that's what I had on hand, added mushrooms, used fresh parsley and pesto concentrate from a tube instead of dried because dried parsley and dried basil are about the most useless and flavorless dried herbs there are, and I added a little bit of grated parmesan to the mozzarella just because I wanted to finish up the bit I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Wow, this is stellar! I'm not normally a fan of eggplant, but I could really eat this every day. We didn't have parsley on hand, and I'm not sure what it would have added. Used fresh ravioli instead of frozen, and didn't bother pre-cooking it. I added a yellow squash, too, because we didn't have quite enough zucchini. This will go on permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OVIEDOGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a great fall recipe since I was able to buy almost everything at my local farmers' market. I left the peel on (it's full of anti-oxidants!)...especially since I used baby eggplants and their skin was not too tough. I also used fresh tomatoes (3 large) to cut down on the sodium and had to add a little bit of water because of it. I used fresh spinach ravioli instead of cheese ravioli. This is a really healthy and yummy dish. It tastes even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is fantastic. I used half Fire-Roasted canned tomatoes and half fresh from the garden, and added mushrooms. Also used a 5-cheese blend instead of just mozzarella. I went to put the leftovers away and my family had demolished the whole casserole! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Great way to use garden vegetables. I used very ripe fresh tomatoes from the garden and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is excellent. My husband likes both ratatouille and ravioli. What a wonderful way to give him both.Add your own favorite seasonings to your taste. Will make on a routine basis...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I substituted home-grown tomatoes and the equivalent amounts of fresh basil and parsely for the dried. I also used whole-wheat spinach ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Totally awesome recipe! We hadn't tried eggplant before, and have always wanted to - this was a perfect introduction. No real changes made to the recipe. We had fresh basil and parsley so we used 3 tablespoons of each of those for the conversion from dried to fresh. We also tossed and coated the diced eggplant with salt for a half hour ahead of time, rinsed and dried it on paper towel. This closes the cells of the eggplant, which keeps it from soaking up the olive oil during cooking. Basically it keeps the eggplant from to becoming slimy. Other than using fresh herbs and prepping the eggplant we made it as directed, which resulted in a definitely make me again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Hubby thought this was great; I thought it was all-right! Lots of good veggies, maybe a spicier ravioli would help perk it up; something with sausage maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States