Raspberry and White Chocolate Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
i haven't made this yet...but i wanted to help those who had problems with the roll...there is a british lad who makes a lemon meringue roulade on youtube...it gives you a great idea of what your meringue should look like and how to get it right..also how best to roll it at the end of the video...his youtube username is mykitchendiaries ...its not Rowena baking it...and its not raspberry and white chocolate..just fast forward when he's describing the lemon filling part...and use the filling for this recipe at that point....Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
The only reason I'm giving this a two is because I really like the filling. But I will never make this dessert again. I took the meringue out of the oven after 10 minutes like the recipe states, and couldn't get the parchment paper to come off. It kept ripping the meringue which I finally noticed wasn't even cooked all the way. I manuevered it back onto the pan and baked it another 10 minutes, which only helped a tad. The filling was so thick after adding the chocolate that trying to spread it over the meringue only made it rip further. It was easy to roll, but the filling was coming out of all the cracks. When I opened it to eat it, it let out a smell like a container full of deviled eggs an the meringue was kind of soggy in spots. It seems to me that it would be easier to make an angel food-based jelly roll and then use this filling. I won't even bother to attempt the meringue part of this again, it's not worth the waste of my time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I'd like to know how to roll this up also! I've made 2 of them and both were a disaster rolling! the first on hit the trash and the second one I just rolled good enough and stuck in the freezer? haven't pulled it out yet to see how bad it looks? What am I doing wrong. the filling tasted awsome, than's why I keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Delicious! However, it did sink a bit. It didn't hold together, and ended up very mooshy by the end of the night. I just wish the meringue had been a bit more stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
It didn't turn out like I expected. It was rather gooey and slimey. The inside was good but the crust was not. I normally like meringue but I did not care for this. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I really wanted to make this, but was worried about rolling it. I dusted the parchment paper with cornstarch beforehand to prevent sticking, it did help as I didn't have any problems removing the paper. When I'd spread the filling over I was very tempted to just pick it up and place it in a trifle bowl. Then I decided to be brave and try to roll it. Actually the rolling wasn't as bad as I'd thought it be. The shape was a little odd but not too bad. I chilled it overnight which I definitely recommend doing. Before serving I sliced it and put whipped cream and more raspberries on top, so my company wouldn't notice the weird shape. This is a lovely tasting dessert which was enjoyed by everyone. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
My husband actually made this, because I was at work. I talked him through the recipe and told him what the other reviews had said. He baked the meringue in a jelly roll pan (10x15). I suspect that Rowena had a typo in her instructions and that it should read 10x15 instead of 10x12. He had a little trouble peeling the parchment paper off the meringue, after flipping it onto the parchment paper with sugar. One corner broke off, but he just use that as the start of the roll, so no one knew the difference. I had advised him to let his cream cheese sit out until it reached room temperature before mixing with the sour cream so that the filling would stay smooth. He said that he had no problems rolling it up. I think his success was mostly due to the use of the jelly roll pan and baking it exactly 10 minutes. My guess is that if he had over baked it, it would have crumbled when trying to roll it, because the edges which were the most done, crumbled a little. Plus, we followed the advice of another reviewer who said to use parchment paper, not wax paper. Since we ate it several hours after he made it, he didn't wrap it in plastic wrap. Instead, he put it in a 9x13 pan that has a tall lid. Then, he chilled it in the freezer for about an hour, and then moved it to the fridge until it was served. This is a delicious dessert! We will definitely make this again. I think I will try other berries or mixing berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
OK, first thing I need to caution y'all about is the chill time. This will need to chill in the refrigerator overnight...it's not something you can chill for a couple of hours & then slice & serve for dessert. Second, I am pretty sure that the meringue should be spread out on a jelly roll pan (sometimes thought of as a cookie sheet but it has a rim on all 4 sides). Mine was too thick & didn't firm properly because it was too thick. I also think that the sour cream needs to be decreased to lessen the runniness of the filling (it seeped out a lot!) either that or it needs to be chilled for a bit after spreading the filling but before rolling (which may aid in firming up the meringue as well..I am going to try that next time). I used frozen rapsberries & took the suggestion of the raspberry jelly (adding a bit of raspberry liquer to thin it some) which probably contributed to my problem w/ a runny filling. Even w/ the problems this dessert was sooo good (couldn't have it for dessert because it hadn't set but I did have some for breakfast) that I will keep working on the recipe until I get it down. It just tastes that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is a very good dessert. The flavor combinations are outstanding! A few notes, though: Waxed paper -- instead of the parchment paper -- does not work on this recipe. I didn't have any parchment paper. So, the meringue layer then stuck to the waxed paper, making it impossible to roll. I was hesitant about using sour cream -- was going to use Cool Whip instead -- but was very pleased with the sour cream. Mixed with the white chocolate and cream cheese, its delicious. In addition to the raspberries on top, I used some raspberry jelly, which I stirred to make it spreadable. Since I wasn't able to roll the dessert, I literally just served it "as is" -- right on the waxed paper! The presentation wasn't the best -- but the family didn't mind. We all loved the dessert -- delicious! I will try again, this time with parchment paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
we substituded whipped cream for the sour cream and it was oneof the BEST desserts i have everhad!!! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States