Raspberry and Strawberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
Tastes delicious, but with that much butter it ought to. It isn't too hard to make, just cleaning berries and stuff. I found that cooking it for 45 minutes was more than sufficient time. The recipe calls for 75 minutes. My Buckle would have been black by then. It really is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This has become a staple in our house now, my 18 month old loves it and is quick and easy. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Excellent recipe. I used my own, frozen, raspberries for the entire recipe (since I didn't have any strawberries on hand). I didn't have any yogurt, either, so I replaced it with sour cream. It came out delicious (albeit with more calories per serving...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
This recipe was awesome! I didn't have any raspberries to put into it, but used blueberries and strawberries. Absolutely delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Very good recipe-would suggest using a bigger baking dish, the one I made overflowed in the oven. Used half of the butter for the topping, raspberries, strawberries and blueberries, and buttermilk instead of yogurt and it still tasted really good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Great recipe for those summer months when strawberries and raspberries are easy to come buy. The entire office loved it! I found that the topping wasn't "crumb like" next time I'll try it with less butter too - maybe that will make it drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Great tasting, even better the next day. I used raspberries and blackberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I used blueberries and strawberries and prepared this in a springform pan for my sister's baby shower. Beautiful presentation and tons of requests for the recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was a very good recipe but I didn't use neither raspberries nor strawberries, I used blueberries. The only suggestions I have to make is that when you're making the topping do not use a half cup of butter because the topping will come out too moist. I made several attempts at the topping until I realized that you only need to use a 1/4 cup of butter to get the right consistency for the topping. Also the recipe says to bake the buckle for an hour and fifteen minutes but you only need to bake it a little over an hour. Other than the few things I needed to change this was the best buckle recipe that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is the only Buckle I have ever made. I used a 9'' springform pan, and about 1 1/2 pints of raspberries and 1/2 pint strawberries as it was all I had on hand. I was very pleased with the results, although, even cutting back on the butter somewhat, my crumb topping wasn't "crumby", and next time I will only use 1/4 cup. I will definetly be making this again, with the proper revision of 1/4 cup butter I expect 5 star buckle results :) Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States