Raspberry and Apricot Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made these today and was very disappointed. While the taste was delicious, the dough was extremely difficult to work with, even after being in the fridge before rolling out between two sheets of parchment. It was very soft, so after rolling and spreading with the jam (I used Ikea's blueberry and raspberry jam)and apricot mixture, I put the triangles back in the fridge because the dough was too soft to roll. After an hour I tried to roll them up and first they started to crack and then became unmanageably soft within minutes. I finally had to just make mounds of dough and filling and bake them. I won't make them again with this dough, but I've decided to use pre-made puff pastry sheets. I can get 4 X 4 inch squares here. I will cut each on diagonal and roll them up and bake them. I know they won't be rugelach, but at least they will be easier to do and look presentable when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe numerous times, but I now cheat. I just use a pre-made pie crust for the dough. It much easier and less time consuming. All other ingredients I have kept the same. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
WOW. These did not disappoint AT ALL. The recipe made a large enough batch that I was able to share with my office and friends, and everyone wanted the recipe! RAVE REVIEWS all-around! ------------------ I also took Deborah's advice and rolled out the dough between wax paper BEFORE refrigerating (I have a feeling things would've been a total mess had I avoided that advice). That made preparation a cinch. I also used whole wheat flour, and everyone loved it. I can't wait to try these with some new variations on filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the best rugelach recipe I have ever made! This recipe will be part of my Christmas cookie tradition for years to come. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Made these for today's office holiday cookie exchange (had to represent the Tribe!). Total winner. I modified and simply filled with chopped chocolate chips and walnuts. Oh, and I only baked for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamila Low

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wow!! I love apricot and raspb, I was excited to give these a try!!! We all loved the flavor A keeper recipe for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
They turned out yummy yummy! I did use kiwi jam I made and pecans for the filling...the dough is hard to use and is easiest to deal with when cold or it is too sticky..I think 35 mins on my oven was too much the bottoms were a little burnt maybe only 20 mins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
A wonderful cookie, but more appreciated amongst the adults. I used a pizza cutter to cut into wedges, because I have misplaced my pastry wheel, works great! I also used parchment instead of the foil, just because that is what I am accustomed to using. Others have commented, and I agree with the suggestion, that these cookies be made a day or two before being served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Messy but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were wonderful! They taste like little turnovers. We are making more for our Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States