Raspberry and Apricot Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
DELICIOUS!! This was my first attempt at making rugelach (I'm not Jewish)--made them for my boyfriend (who is Jewish) and also for my co-workers for Hanukkah. I gave some to my boyfriend to try and he loved them and asked me where I got them. He couldn't believe it when I told him I had made them!!! He was thoroughly impressed (and I was proud as a peacock!) I had Jewish co-workers of mine saying that they were the best rugelach they had EVER HAD!!! What a compliment! This recipe is just incredible. Highly recommended. Happy Hanukkah everyone! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I've used this recipe for years. It is the best tasting cookie. Don't let the dough get warm or it will get sticky. I take 1 ball at a time out of the refrigerator to work with. I also add 3/4 c of chopped golden raisins to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is the easiest and the tastiest treat one could make. I am so bad at baking, it's not even funny. But these turned out so good, my husband couldn't believe that he could actually eat and enjoy things that came out of my oven. I recommend it to everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krasnoyarsk, Krasnoyarsk Krai , Russia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I tried this recipe for the first time for my Aunt and Uncle for Hanukkah. My uncle is Jewish, my Aunt (and family) are not. I bought a Hanukkah card which had a reference to rugelach, so I found out what it was and decided to try it. I find that this recipe calls for speed when handling the dough from frig to oven. Also the amount of raspberry filling had to be cut in half due to the fact that the first batch burnt because of the filling spilling out from the insides while baking. I basically painted the filling on with my pastry brush and that was all I used. I had better luck with the second batch and plan on making it again as with only half the cookies(to give away) there aren't any for me! I did try them and they were delicious!!! ***************************************** Ok, I made these again and thought I'd share a tip concerning handling the dough. When I make these, I now separate the dough into 4 equal pieces. I take each individual piece and put it between two pieces of wax paper (before refrigerating), I then roll out the dough, while it's between the wax paper and refrigerate them with the wax paper intact. After 10 minutes or so, just peel off the top layer of wax paper and continue with the recipe. It makes it sooo much easier. Trust me! Good luck:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This recipe is excellent. Everyone who has tried them loves them! I have made them on numerous occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This had just the flavor I was looking for. I couldn't find seedless preserves, so trying to strain regular was a pain, and the dough was really sticky and difficult to work with, but the finished product was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This cookie is delicious! I used less sugar than called for in the recipie and it was still great and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Wow,what a great treat. Even family members that weren't apricot fans loved these. A bit of effort to make but well worth it. Used seet cream butter (unsalted)which gave them an extra buttery taste. This receipe is definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
thanks Holly! have been making this cookie for three years on our annual 'cookie day'! everyone looks forward to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Quite a bit of work (time wise, not in difficulty)for an amateur baker, but worth the effort. I followed advice from another rugelach recipe to put the rugelach into the fridge for 20 minutes before baking. This was great as I needed that much time to get two trays of rugelach ready. Even my 3 year old loves these (I made mine without walnuts). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States