Raspberry and Apricot Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Fantastic! I altered it a bit to accommodate my guests. I made three different types: raspberry, blackberry, and apricot. I only used preserves in each of them, so no chopped apricots at all. Very easy and very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Superb rugelach. Actually 4-1/2 stars, only because the dough is one of the most difficult I have ever worked with. Two things necessary, however, when working with it - speed and patience. It needs to be chilled thoroughly at all times. As suggested, I rolled it into rounds (used a pot lid to mark the 9" circle on the waxed paper) between two sheets and refrigerated the sheets for over an hour. Once spread with jam and filling, the dough warmed fast and became sticky, so I couldn't roll the crescents at that time. Had to put the filled circles back into the fridge for another 20 minutes, and halfway through shaping each circle, had to re-chill for 5-10 minutes. Just know that these are labor-intensive. But you'll be rewarded with a lovely, tender pastry, better than any rugelach from a bakery. Buying parchment is not necessary. You can easily use foil instead, shine side DOWN. Gently loosen them from the foil as soon as they get out of the oven, as a bit of the jam and/or sugar will melt out. If you have lots of time, you're going to be very happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were such a hit! I added them to my Christmas cookie trays and they were the most talked about cookie out of all the cookies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The taste was spot on for rugelach, flaky dough and a delish filling. I used raspberry preserves with seeds which worked fine. I anticipated problems with the dough but it was actually quite simple to roll out, place the filling on, roll up & cook. The only problem I had was a few of them came undone and the filling spilled out. Those few didn't look good but still tasted great! Next time I will freeze the rolled cookies on cookie sheets for 30 minutes before baking, I had success with this trick in another rugelach recipe I tried (after this one). Also, be sure to use wire racks, not paper towels to cool them, the paper towel stuck to the filling. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The dough is similar to my mom's Russian version of the recipe. Wonderful. It was gone within 1 day. I had doubled the recipe. I used the original filling for the 1st half. Raspberry preserves are a wonderful touch. For the 2nd half, I used apricot preserves and then sprinkled a mixture of chopped walnuts with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINFORJOY
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These turned out FANTASTIC, and were quite addicting. I'm pretty critical about my baking, and these were one of the few things that I was able to call a success--to my roommate's astonishment ("you've never said that before!") Be sure to FOLLOW DEBORAH'S ADVICE (see previous review) about rolling out the dough between 2 sheets of wax paper before refrigerating--makes it so easy. I divided the dough into 4 balls, rolled each out between 2 sheets of wax paper, and refrigerated them for 20 min while i made the filling. Make sure that when you peel off the wax paper it isn't sticking to the dough--if so, put it back for another 10 min. For the filling, I only used 2 T of sugar, and it was just right. I used 1 T of raspberry jam and it didn't ooze everywhere, and I baked them on parchment paper lined baking sheets. I followed another reviewer's advice of placing them, rolled up and ready to go in the oven, into the fridge first for another 20 min before baking--this ensured that they were nice and flaky. Mine only needed 25 min in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
It is a really good recipe but it is pretty hard to make. To work the dough takes quite an effort also it gets really messy to put the Rugelashes together. Not to mention the baking part. I feel that the raspberry preserve should be no more than 1/2 tsp since it goes all over the cookie sheet at baking. It was my first time baking it so I was quite overwhelmed. May be next time I'll reduce the amount of preserves and see how it turns out. Other than that it is a tasty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarnsp1ce
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I love this recipe! I started making this during the holiday season because my dad loved the ones he tried from King's. I found this recipe, and it's been a family favorite ever since. I usually allow the dough to cool for about 5 minutes before rolling it out to prevent it from cracking. This recipe is also great if you try using different fruit preserves like pineapple, raspberry, peach. Chocolate rugelach can be made by omitting the dried apricot and nut mixture and replacing it with chocolate that has been melted over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnsp1ce

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe is so yummy and very easy. Being a bit intimidated at first (having not baked much in my lifetime!), I was amazed at how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
yummy! i've always wanted to try this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States