Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Scrumptious goodness is a small bite. I used quart size zip lock bags (end cut off) for the jam and the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made a trial batch using other reviewers comments. Added 1/2 cup flour and put them in the freezer for a few hours before baking (with the raspberry jam in them). They turned out amazing! My husband would not stop eating them, I had to make two more batches. Took them to Christmas Eve and had multiple requests for the recipe. Sitting on a table full of other desserts, they were gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made these for the first time exactly as the directions stated and they were AMAZING! My husband keeps asking for more! I read some reviews and whoever said to use the chap stick cap to make the hole on top is genius! Thank you for that great tip and the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
With this recipe, I've just discovered a new FAVORITE! These are so easy to make, it really surprises you at first! And they are fabulous. They taste like they came from the finest bakery. And they're very pretty. I used 100% natural, high quality, preserves: Cranberry Marmalade, English Apricot and Raspberry preserves. All were really delicious. I rolled the dough into the full recommended inch and a half balls. I used the class shaped/standard 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon to make my indentations for the jam. No spreading. No leaking. Just enough jam/preserves for great flavor and a beautiful cookie. And perfectly round even indentation. An incredible recipe and a hit with everyone. Rich buttery taste. Old fashioned. I will make time and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Kay
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
First time baker. Not too bad. I used the end of a 1/2 tablespoon to make the indent. My jam exploded too after reading the reviews a lot of people had this problem. Although my jam exploded still came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These cookies turned awesome and the family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
i just made this recipe and it turned out wonderful but my only question is: Are you supposed to use Salted Butter or Unsalted Butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackieNJones82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This wasn't even dough it ended up being sand!! Would not hold it's shape,tried to roll it into balls and it just fell apart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made these cookies for Christmas this year. Loved them! Took the suggestion from another reviewer by decreasing the oven temp by 10 degrees, added 1/4 cup more flour, and placed the cookies in the freezer for 10 mins before baking. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are my new favorite Christmas cookies. I'd advise chilling the dough for about an hour, making 1 inch balls rather than 1 1/2", and using the end of a big wooden spoon, chapstick end, or 1/2 inch dowel to make the indentation. Be sure to use parchment paper; it helps them brown properly and prevents sticking. I used a sandwich bag for the jam, squeezing it through a snipped-off corner. I'd also double the batch, because they're popular and they freeze well. Don't substitute vanilla for the almond extract; it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States