Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The taste was delicious! Not overly sweet, but very buttery. Followed others suggestions and made the cookies, then put them in the freezer for 10 minutes prior to baking. The "icing" measurements were incorrect. I used 1.5 Tbsp milk to make it workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great Cookie. Easy make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbeck500
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Instead of butter I used Margarin (I can't believe its not butter worked great). During the mixing of the butter and sugar I placed the mixture in the microwave for 30 secs to soften the Margarin further. I used a whisk to beat it till smooth. I then added the flour 'slowly' while whisking it in until the the last 1/2 cup I had to use a wooden spoon. Dough came out great and even the cookies came out fantastic with 2" dough balls (though I keep with 1 and 1/2 inch balls to make a better yield). Instead of a chap-stick cap I used a cap from a hairspray bottle (almost the same size as a chap-stick cap then measured in 1/2 teaspoon of Raspberry jam. I doubled the recipe and it yielded approximately 28 tasty cookies. Deeeeeeeeeelicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I am baking my cookies as I write my review. The dough was nice to work with. I didn't have any problem with crumbling. I like to use Land O Lakes butter. I think it's delicious, especially for baking. I didn't soften it too much before starting. I didn't feel the need to change the recipe by adding more flour or changing the oven temp. Really glad I didn't. The shortbread is BEAUTIFUL on the tongue! So flaky and buttery. I used the almond extract lid to make a dent in the tsp. sized balls of dough. I baked for 14 minutes and then put the jam in immediately after baking with a baby spoon. EASY PEEZY! I used Smuckers raspberry, but any flavor you like best would be great! I highly recommend making the recipe as is. On my next batch I'm putting them jam in while baking to see if it's just as easy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extracheeseplease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are absolutely fabulous! Made them exactly as written, except refrigerated each batch about 15 minutes before baking. Used raspberry, blueberry and apricot jams. Next batch, going to add Nutella. Yum! If you are making these for someone else, plan on baking an extra batch for yourself- they're that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a decent recipe. I also had some spreading of jelly but my oven is terrible (in a rental). I cooked them at a lower temp and just remembered to take them out BEFORE browning. This recipe doesn't have eggs so there is no worry about getting sick if they are a bit under done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made these as part of my Christmas mix. They are almost gone. My BF loves them. I will have to make more so they can go on the tray and also some for him. These are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delightful! So easy and great flavor. I made them with my niece for Thanksgiving. They were a huge hit. My son begged me to make more because they were the first to go. I'm adding them to my list of Christmas cookies this year. The almond extract gives them a very distinct almond/buttery flavor. If you like almond you'll love these cookies. Great with coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
i've made this cookie a few times over the years using regular raspberry jam and raspberry filling specifically for baking. the one for baking made a huge difference and didn't bubble over at all. i added one egg yolk this year, and the cookie didn't spread as much as in previous years. i also molded the cookies first and then refrigerated the dough before filling and baking. i like it best with vanilla extract for the icing, almond for the cookie. i put the icing in a zip lock baggie and cut a tiny hole in the corner to drizzle on the cookies. these cookies are a HUGE hit at the dessert table!! don't be intimidated by the multi-step process if you're an amateur baker. they really aren't difficult, at all. enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States