Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made these for the first time exactly as the directions stated and they were AMAZING! My husband keeps asking for more! I read some reviews and whoever said to use the chap stick cap to make the hole on top is genius! Thank you for that great tip and the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
With this recipe, I've just discovered a new FAVORITE! These are so easy to make, it really surprises you at first! And they are fabulous. They taste like they came from the finest bakery. And they're very pretty. I used 100% natural, high quality, preserves: Cranberry Marmalade, English Apricot and Raspberry preserves. All were really delicious. I rolled the dough into the full recommended inch and a half balls. I used the class shaped/standard 1/4 teaspoon measuring spoon to make my indentations for the jam. No spreading. No leaking. Just enough jam/preserves for great flavor and a beautiful cookie. And perfectly round even indentation. An incredible recipe and a hit with everyone. Rich buttery taste. Old fashioned. I will make time and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Kay
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
First time baker. Not too bad. I used the end of a 1/2 tablespoon to make the indent. My jam exploded too after reading the reviews a lot of people had this problem. Although my jam exploded still came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These cookies turned awesome and the family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
i just made this recipe and it turned out wonderful but my only question is: Are you supposed to use Salted Butter or Unsalted Butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackieNJones82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This wasn't even dough it ended up being sand!! Would not hold it's shape,tried to roll it into balls and it just fell apart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made these cookies for Christmas this year. Loved them! Took the suggestion from another reviewer by decreasing the oven temp by 10 degrees, added 1/4 cup more flour, and placed the cookies in the freezer for 10 mins before baking. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are my new favorite Christmas cookies. I'd advise chilling the dough for about an hour, making 1 inch balls rather than 1 1/2", and using the end of a big wooden spoon, chapstick end, or 1/2 inch dowel to make the indentation. Be sure to use parchment paper; it helps them brown properly and prevents sticking. I used a sandwich bag for the jam, squeezing it through a snipped-off corner. I'd also double the batch, because they're popular and they freeze well. Don't substitute vanilla for the almond extract; it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I thought these were very good, simple cookies. I chilled the dough in the fridge as suggested in other recipes, and the cookies didn't become overly flat and the jam stayed in place. The icing came out in one big ball though, so I kept having to add milk to thin it out. I'd love to try adding chopped walnuts to this to give it a little something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
After reading other reviews, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour (but needed a tiny bit of milk for moistness), I rolled the balls small and used a chapstick to make the indentation. I then put them outside (it's winter in the Yukon...no need to use the freezer to chill!) for 10-15 mins and baked for 15 mins, turning pan around about 1/2 way through. They were so pretty and turned out perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States